Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi all, I'm new here, but I have some questions. Firstly, about the Space Marine command squad. The bottom of p.48 of the rule book talks about retinues.
"Some codex books allow you to field characters together with a special unit that they cannot leave during the game (which is normally called a 'retinue', 'bodyguard' or similar). Where this is the case, the character counts as an upgrade character until all of the other members of this unit are killed, at which point it starts counting as an independent character and will do so for the rest of the game."
The Command Squad entry doesn't say anything about being a retinue or bodyguard, but can I assume that:
1) the command squad is a retinue
2) the captain can't leave the command squad
3) the captain counts as an upgrade character until all the other members of the squad are killed
Thanks in advance
No, you may not assume that.
It does not say they are a retinue, therefore they are not one. Such a thing is only noted in the rulebook in respect to older Codex books that still possess such rules.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
This is often where a lot of confusion stems from. People apply rules that they'd like to apply, not that are stated to apply.
So yeah, ignore all that stuff about retinues. Your command squad is a squad, your captain is an independent character that joins that squad. And as such, he can still be singled out in close combat.
As psichotykwyrm said, the term 'retinue' or 'bodyguard' is now confined to the older codexes, but therefore needs explanation/rules in the rulebook in order for the player to use them in the way they were intended.
To give you an example of a Bodyguard: the Tau Empire Codex has a Special Character called Commander Farsight who can take up to 7 Crisis Suit buddies as a Bodyguard (= retinue). He cannot leave this group until they are all killed, but he also cannot be singled out in close combat either as he is simply considered an upgrade character for the unit.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Thanks guys for your responses. I'm only familiar with my Space Marines codex so I wasn't aware that others specifically said the word "retinue" or "bodyguard". I thought "You may take one Command Guard squad for every Space Marine Captain in your army" meant that the squad was supposed to go with the captain. It never even occurred to met hat I could field them separately. Why would they throw the word "Guard" in there when the listing is for "Command Squad" and it's on the bottom of the "Captain" page. Just to confuse me I guess.
Can be confusing, but yeah, no retinue.
I think the only codicies that still have retinues are Black Templars and Tau.