Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm wondering if all the veterans in the command squad retain their basic weapons for the purposes of assaults.
a) It states "The Apothecary also has a narthecium." So in assault, he still gets the bonus attack for bolt pistol + chainsword?
b) "One veteran may carry the company standard." It doesn't say it replaces any weapons, so I assume he still has bolt pistol + chainsword and gets the additional attack bonus?
I played someone the other day that suggested the standard bearer doesn't get the bonus attack since he is carrying the standard but I couldn't find anything to that effect.
There is actually an entry in the DA FAQ mentioning that standard bearers / apothecaries can use various 2-handed items like plasmaguns if you want a precedent.
Just remember you are not allowed to upgrade the Apothecary with anything.
The basic wargear is listed in the entry. If something like a Standard doesn't say that the Standard replaces X or Y then the options are still there, and if the wargear involves two single-handed CC weapons like bolt pistol and chainsword then the model will still be entitled to its extra attack.
Example: Grey Hunters come with bolter, bolt pistol and CCW. One of the squad may take the Wolf Standard but it doesn't say that it replaces anything, so his original wargear remains and he continues to get an extra attack.
Example: Grey Knight Paladin replaces force sword with Brotherhood Banner. He no longer has a force weapon so all his attacks are just normal attacks. However, his unit benefit from the Banner's abilities.
Last edited by eiglepulper; March 5th, 2012 at 16:23.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Sounds good, thanks guys.