Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey all, kinda new to 40K, quick question... do psychic shooting attacks have to both pass a psychic test to fire and a BS roll to see if they hit? Or do they just test and auto-hit? Do blasts scatter at all? Thanks.
Fear me, mortals, for I am The Anointed, The Favored Son of Chaos, The Scourge of the World. The armies of the Gods rally behind me, and it is by My Will and by My Sword that your weakling nations shall fall. - Archaon, The Everchosen, Lord of the End Times
Pass pyschic test and then roll to hit, unless it's a template attack
Page 3 of the FAQhttp://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_...nuary_2012.pdfQ: Do psychic shooting attacks need to roll To Hit?
( p50 )
If the psychic attack is "instead of shooting" or is a specified psychic shooting attack then yes: psychic test needs to be passed and then a roll to hit is required in almost all circumstances. Some examples would be Mind War (Eldar) which is a direct [shooting] attack against a single model, or Lash of Submission (Chaos Marines) which in itself is not a Shooting Attack per se but which does take place in the Shooting Phase and has been FAQed as requiring a To-hit roll.
The exception would be any psychic attack which specifically states that it does not require a roll to hit despite being used in the Shooting Phase, eg Jaws of the World Wolf (SW FAQ).
I've looked through the Space Wolves/Grey Knights/Dark Angels/Space Marines/Eldar/Chaos codexes and can't see any psychic power which uses a teardrop template. In its former variant back in 3rd(?) Edition, "Smite" used to use one but that has now changed to Assault 4. Maybe there is an example out there in the other codexes I don't own? If so, then it would be an auto-hit since that is the way templates work according to P.29 BRB.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
1. Roll psychic test.
2. Farseer and victim both roll 1D6 and add Ld.
3. If the victim loses, it takes wounds equal to how much it lost by.
So I now need to point out to him that it also requires a 'to hit' roll after the psychic test?
Not that I'm overly bothered, since Mind War has never yet caused my Necron Overlord to lose any wounds!...
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Mind War isn't a shooting attacking, it's just done during shooting phase?
Last edited by Klajorne; March 8th, 2012 at 02:38. Reason: Khaaaaaaaaann!
Grey Knights have Warp Rift. Uses a template.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes