Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was twinking my SM army list in my head during my shower and came to this :
Assume I have a drop-poded IronClad with dual HF and 2x Hunter killer missiles. From where I disembarked, I'm within range with my Flamers to a tank near-by and there's an infantry squad in between the two. I decide to shoot my flamers at the tank, hurting the squad in the attempt. I do believe this scenario is legal, providing there's a walking squad between me and my target.
But what if the said tank has an IV that I cannot harm with my Str5 templates ? but could with my missiles. Can I still shoot my templates ? hurting the squad but not the tank?
From my understanding of the BrB, I have to place the template in order to touch as much of the targeted vehicle as possible, but would not touching the vehicle prevent me from firing ? Because Flamers combined with unlimited HKM range could mean that i can target a tank across the board and then place the templates in the same direction, possibly hurting an enemy squad just in front of me.
I know this is playing with the intent of the rules, but for me, Flamers should be no brainers weapons, I mean, a dreadnought should be allowed to fire at a more important target while pumping fire out in front of him simply because he knows there are enemies in front of him even if he doesn't concentrate on them (thus justifying the direction of the arc of fire being the main target and not what's in front of him).
What do you guys think?
5th edition come back game count : Dark Angels W5 L3 D4 Lucky games count : 3 (lol)
Space Wolves W0 L1 D1
8th Edition come back game count : Skaven W0 L0 D2 Games
It is assumed that when you fire with a unit, you fire everything at the same time so yes, you can aim your heavy flamers and hunter-killer missiles at a vehicle and hit a unit between you and it, plus you can still shoot weapons at a vehicle, even if you can't hurt it.
You can't combine weapon ranges though, that just doesn't make sense. If your weapon isn't within range of an enemy unit, regardless of whether another weapon is in range of it, you can't shoot the weapon. I mean come on, don't you think that would just un-balance the game even more in the favour of some armies over others? But then again, if there was a unit right in front of you, why would you shoot something further away? Surely you'd want to get rid of the threat right in front of you.
Sure if it was really happening I guess the Dreadnought would shoot something far away with it's missiles while burning stuff in front of it (I don't know to much fluff about Dreadnoughts), but you have to apply rules to it to make it fair.
One shall stand, and one shall fall.
Having to cover as much of the target as possible with the template has absolutely nothing to do with the range of other weapons fired.
If you can hit both the target and a unit between with a template, good for you. If that target is a tank, and you are also firing anti-tank weapons, then kudos. That can be a nifty move in the right situation.
Last edited by psichotykwyrm; March 16th, 2012 at 02:34.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes