Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm struggling with a problem for a little bit now. On page 6 for attacks and on page 42 for close combat weapons they do not mention if it is possible for models to lose attacks by wielding certain weapons. For example I use a Space Marine Captain with a Relic Blade and Storm shield. Both of these weapons say that the model carrying these cannot gain an extra attack for having an additonal close combat weapon. So does he keep his 3 attacks, or is he reduced down to 1?
I imagine he would keep his 3 attacks, but I've been wrong before so.
No what they mean is say for example a relic blade, it is a two handed blade so the character or whoever is using it doesn't get a extra attack. If you don't know what this means it is this: in close combat the amount of attacks is determined by several factors, your baseline stat for attack, any special rules that grant your unit extra attack, now this is the important part: any additional close combat weapons or pistols you are carrying and another factor is if you charged into the enemy unit that turn.
Now, when you wield say a cc weapon and a bolt pistol( this could be for a captain or a sergeant or any other model) you get plus one attack for carrying an additional close combat weapon so you get + 1 attack plus any other of the factors. Back to the relic blade, since it is a too heavy a weapon for the character to carry, even if you carry a bolt pistol or another weapon, the relic blade does not allow you to get this extra attack for wielding this extra weapon and this applies also to the storm shield but they do get their baseline attacks so for the captain, he would get 3 attacks plus + 1 attack for charging into an enemy unit if he wielded a relic blade.
For more information, view the types of close combat weapons in the rulebook because i'm guessing you might not know how many attacks someone with a powerfist or a thunder hammer might get but it explains it all but i don't have a page reference for you.
Alright thanks, and by that logic that means a slugga ork boy with a shoota would get two attacks naturally since that is their natural stat line? I'd assume mot since they drop their pistol for a two handed shoota.
yeah so since a ork boy traded in his slugga and cc weapon for a shoota, he'd lose the extra attack but he would still get his 2 baseline attacks.
There is another element to factor in too: models like Chaos Space Marines who have bolter, bolt pistol and close combat weapon as standard wargear will always be able to claim an extra attack for having two close combat weapons. So a standard CSM gets 3 attacks on the charge: 1 from his statline, 1 for the two CCWs and 1 for charging.
A Thunderwolf Cavalry model gets 4 basic attacks, but the model riding the TW adds one for his basic wargear. If however he were to exchange the pistol for a storm shield he would automatically lose this extra attack as a storm shield never allows you to gain an extra attack. Similarly if the close combat weapon was exchanged for a power fist/wolf claw/thunderhammer then the extra attack would also be denied because you have to have two of these weapons in order to gain the +1 A.
Confusing? Yeah, initially, but the best way to get it right is to read the page in the BRB that tells you which weapons will give you +1 A and which ones won't.
It is rare that a model's Attacks stat on their profile can be altered, and it is usually due to something being inflicted on it rather than by the model taking some fsort of wargear itself. The only example I can think of would be a Dreadnought suffering an Immobilised result, which reduces its statline attacks by one down to a minimum of 1.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Also, out of my lack of knowledge for the chaos space marine codex, i though that they could only have a bolter or a bolt pistol and cc weapon and not have both at once so they can't decide which one to use or not? I know that for the space marine codex they do have bolters and bolt pistols but only the sergeant hs the bolt pistol and cc weapon but not a bolter but can swap his weapons for a bolter. For the space marines, i only thought that they could choose to fire which weapon they did want to use as shooting with a bolt pistol would allow them to assault that turn.
I know you can (the FAQ confirms it), but I think it's a bit cheeky to be taking a Storm Shield with a Relic Blade, since the blade says it's two-handed!...
Bolt Pistol (which adds +1 attack in close combat).
Close combat weapon (chainsword/axe/whatever)
So they can go round shooting their bolters (or their bolt pistols), but once they're in close combat, they'll have 3 attacks if they charge, and 2 if they don't.
Basic Imperial Space Marines have only a Bolter and a Bolt pistol, so they don't get any bonus attack for having two close combat weapons.
"Peace, through superior firepower."