Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Roll to hit. Roll a D6 for each shot fired.
The model’s BS determines what score
they must equal or beat to hit their
this is the rule thats got me and me brother confused a vindicar assassin bs is 8 so how do we roll that in a d6 dice?? or do we roll 2 dice?
No you roll a single dice with a 2+ to hit, this applies for all models with a BS of 5 or higher,
However if you have a BS of 6+ and you fail your to hit roll (ie you roll a 1) then you get to re-roll.
This re-roll will not hit on a 2+ but instead for BS 8 will hit on a 4+.
Its in the rulebook page 18
Top left of the page in a box Ballistic Skill of 6 or Higher
"Very rarely a model may have a BS of 6 or even
more. If a model has a BS of 6 or higher, it gains a
re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 to hit with ranged
attacks. The second roll has normally a lower
chance of hitting, and the number needed is given
in the chart below in italics after the slash
Firer's BS 6 7 8 9 10
Score needed to hit 2/6 2/5 2/4 2/3 2/2
For example, a model with BS 7 fires a shot with
its pistol. It rolls a 1, missing, but thanks to its
exceptional Bs it can re-roll the dice. This time,
however it won't hit on a 2, but rather on a 5.
If a model has a special rule that already confers it
a re-roll to hit (like master-crafted weapon, for
example) then that re-roll takes precedence and
the chart above is not used. Instead the chances
to hit on the re-roll are the same as the first shot,
depending of the firer's BS. Remember a dice can
only ever be re-rolled once!"
Hope this clears this up.
If He is For me, Who shall stand against me
You look at their BS number you then minus that from 7 and thats your target when you roll. As any rolls of 1 are a fail units that are BS6 or higher get to reroll if they miss, so if you're BS6 then it's 2+ to hit and then reroll of 6 - each BS higher than 6 adds +1 to the reroll, so your assassin would hit on a 2+ reroll on a 4+ (2 above BS6).
To simplify what has been said above - you're applying the shooting rules wrongly. Look in the rulebook for the 'to hit' table for shooting. This will show you what you need to roll to hit with any BS.
'War does not determine who is right, only who is left'
I am President of the Brunel University wargames society - PM me if interested.
A model with a BS of 5 or more will always hit on a 2+, with re-rolls available on an improving sliding scale as the BS gets higher.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"