Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
(Q1) Can a model with no pistol and no Close Combat Weapon (CCW) attack in an assault?
Example: An Ultramarine veteran, as part of a Command Squad, bears a plasma gun and a meltagun (instead of the usual chainsword and/or bolt pistol). The meltagun is an assault type weapon and the plasma is a Rapid Fire. How many attacks does he get in an assault?
(Q2) What if he has no pistol, no CCW and even no assault weapon?
I couldn't find any example in the Space Marines codex of any intfantry model which is possible for it be without pistol,CCW,assault weapons, but perhaps this is possible in other codexes.
1 attack 2 if he assaulted that turn just like normal.
A space marine veteran has 2 attacks so he gets two attacks.
Even if they don't have a CCW or a pistol they can attack.
Don't forget about the attack modifiers such as if the unit charged they get +1 attack, if they have 2 CCWs they get +1 attack etc.
ah didnt know the vet had 2 attacks well the normal amount of attacks no bonus
Nothing wrong with his typing chen. A Vet has 2 attacks standard, just because you might give him a power weapon or powerfist, he does not have to use them in close combat. Also don't give him two 2h weapons, nothing wrong with either a meltagun or plasma gun but both is just silly.
Last edited by TheShad0w; May 12th, 2012 at 17:11.
I coulda put in a , :}
That statement about not using the power weapon or powerfist in combat isn't correct, I'm afraid, TheShad0w. The model is required to use any special weapon it has. BRB P.35 paragraph under the second bullet point says so.
seanb: You seem to be still confused about assault weapons vs weapons which are classed as CC weapons. An assault weapon like a meltagun is "Type: assault" and this simply means that the bearer is allowed to make an assault move after firing the weapon. The weapon itself has nothing to do with the model's number of attacks.
As far as a model being able to attack even if he is not carrying anything which is classed as a CCW: it is always assumed that the model has something available to him which he can use to attack an enemy, even if it is only his head or his boot!
BRB P.42 lists the normal, special and two-handed close combat weapons which are used in assault and which also are used to determine if the model does or does not gain an extra attack for having two CCWs. Assault weapons like stormbolters and meltaguns are not mentioned anywhere on this page.
As for other codexes showing models/units without any CCWs at all: even if that did happen it would not alter the fact that the statline in the model's profile shows that it can indeed attack at least once. The only time a model would not be able to attack in CC is if the Attacks stat entry had a zero or a "-" in it.
Hope this helped.
Last edited by eiglepulper; May 13th, 2012 at 01:21. Reason: spelling
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Second bullet point of pg.35 is about models within 2" of one that is in base contact during cc etc. So please check your rulebook again and tell me where it says you have to use special equipment.