Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can a skimmer tank shock a squad out of melee with another squad?
basically the land speeder flies over the squads heads, leaving them to pick up their hats rolling on the ground.
Yeah, he did actually say "skimmer tank" specifically. ^_^Originally posted by WolfRaider@Nov 7 2004, 08:36
A skimmer can only tank shock if it's profile (description) also lists it as a tank. If it does it follows all the normal tank shock rules. For example, an Land Speeder cannot, a Falcon can.
The answer would seem to be yes, you can. You may not move over friendly models, but it says nothing about not moving over models in combat. It could be difficult to pull off, but if you can do it then yes. (Y)
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
Yes, I know. But from experience I know if I had just answered 'yes' the next entry would have been either "You can't tank shock with skimmers" or "Yeah! I can use skimmers to tank shock, here come my land speeders" :hmm:Originally posted by Anacron@Nov 7 2004, 15:36
Yeah, he did actually say "skimmer tank" specifically. ^_^[snapback]246171[/snapback]
So I tend to answer more specifically than required by the question just to avoid the non-reading posters crazy follow ups. :lol:
As to the original question: I would say that you cannot tank shock a unit in close combat, for the same reasons you cannot shoot into it.
The enemies of the Emperor fear many things. They fear discovery, defeat, despair and death. Yet there is one thing they fear above all others. They fear the wrath of the Space Marines!
That felt right to me as well, but so far I have been unable to find any rule that prevents tank shocking a engaged enemy unit as long as you do not run over your own troops.Originally posted by Brother Marius@Nov 7 2004, 20:35
As to the original question: I would say that you cannot tank shock a unit in close combat, for the same reasons you cannot shoot into it.[snapback]246374[/snapback]
The fluff describes close combat as a swirling mass, but we all know what happens if you try to interpret rules based on fluff.
Anyone find a 'no tank shock close combat' rule out there?
It says in the book that the enemy unit must be moved aside when the tank moves into them, since this result cannot happen the tank may not do a tank shock. Also the tank moves through the unit it is virtually impossible to not hit your own models
Thats the way I see it since GW left out yet another rule, its pretty obvious tho you can't tank shock into CC heh but thats my rule interpretation using the book
The only way I could see it happening is if your tank ran over enemy "engaged" enemy models that were 2 inches or so out from the combat (for example, the tail end of a squad that just charged one of your units)
Even so, without rules for it I dont think we should be driving over half a squad while the other half is in hand to hand. What if we did allow it? Would any fall back from the tank shock be considered under the "Crossfire" rules? The squad would be toast.
I am the Aquila-Guerilla!
So, lets get this straight. There doesn't seem to be any rule against tank shocking a unit engaged in melee, correct? As long as one fails to run over one's own troops, then, there is nothing in the rules to prevent such a maneuver?
As for the 'fluff' argument, I contend that my Firewarriors are not actually participating in a 'swirling melee' no matter how much GW deludes themselves into thinking that they are. Rather, the Tau are clearly cowering behind their pulse rifles--all too relieved to see a friendly tank charging towards their position, whether it intends to stop short of hurting them or not, and, of course, not being interested in actually fighting the enemy with their gun-butts or little knives, they would gladly take that distraction as an opportunity to break with their foes.
Two more questions:
If one were to attempt to move a tank or skimmer over one's own troops, what would happen? Would the tank just stop in its tracks upon encountering the friendly models' bases? If so, would this rule carry over to a tank-shock manever in which you encounter an enemy unit before completing your maximum movement and encounter your own models afterwards in such a way that the maneuver would be completed while your tank stopped short of your own troops? This certainly seems to be the case to me.
The second is this: does anyone else find it odd that being a skimmer allows one to move over enemy troops, but not over one's own troops?