Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
From Codex Eldar: "...always strikes first regardless of Initiative or other factors..."
Nowhere does it mention them in the 4e rulebook.
Nowhere does it mention them in the Eldar FAQ.
Nowhere does it mention them on the GW message boards or on the website (at least, not that I can find).
Therefore, models with Banshee Masks always strike first regardless of initiative.
My gaming buddy now tells me they strike at Initiative 10, and he has been unable to prove that statement... :unsure:
i seem to remember it says somewhere that things that always hit first have been changed to hitting on I 10, similarly things that hit last always hit on a I 1. i can't find it in the rulebook though. i can't remember where i got it from either.
Ive read the rules, they don't always strike first. Its for the first round of combat ONLY.
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:black'>Order Of the Black Rose</span>
<span style='color:red'>Blood God's Initiate</span></span>
Hence the problem with the 4th edition codexs. Banshee masks strike at Int. 10 and strike at the same time as models in cover. I'll find where the ruling is later, just trust me that is how it works.
Originally posted by Black Templar847+Dec 8 2004, 02:46--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Black Templar847 @ Dec 8 2004, 02:46)</div><div class='quotemain'>Ive read the rules, they don't always strike first. Its for the first round of combat ONLY.[/b]
Well yes, I knew that. :rolleyes: Forgot to mention it though, didn't seem important.
Hence the problem with the 4th edition codexs. Banshee masks strike at Int. 10 and strike at the same time as models in cover. I'll find where the ruling is later, just trust me that is how it works.[/quote]
That's the problem I have - everyone says knowledgeably "Oh yes, Int.10 nowadays" and no-one can back up that statement, whereas my version is stated specifically by the Codex, that they strike first regardless of Int.
The only place it is mentioned is in the old Trial Assault Rules, but they are not valid or required any more with this new 4th edition.
well i meant always strike first in the first round of combat.
i swear i saw it in the rule book somewhere.
Yeah im gonna have to reverse my answer until I can find it in the new rules as well.. I dont see where it says things that strike first strike at Int. 10 anylonger. That was indeed a TAR change. Reading now tho
The only mention of initative 10 and 1 for striking first and last are on page 39 of the BGB under who strikes first and cover. An example is given of a veteran space marine sergeant with a power fist striking at initative 1 while the cover section states that models attacking from cover count as initative 10 for the first round.
The enemies of the Emperor fear many things. They fear discovery, defeat, despair and death. Yet there is one thing they fear above all others. They fear the wrath of the Space Marines!
Yeah unfortunately that's only about cover and nothing else that strikes first. Since in cover you dont "strike first" persay, you strike at Int. 10
Perhaps they realized that banshees didn't have plasma grenades and reversed the TAR to actually let them use their masks to full effect.. Either way, I don't see a current rule so I'd say they strike first as does anything else that strikes first