Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
ok, imagine this:
i have a tactical squad of 9 marines with bolters. on my opponents turn they get charged by his units. When they attack the marines, can they (the marines) fight (in his turn) back ?
like, with their fists or something or are they useless in CC because of the bolters?
Yes the marines will strike back according to their initiative, but please check the rulesbook for this
Yes, you fight back. Every model makes the number of attacks in it's profile, regardless of weaponry. Think of them as flailing out with the bolters, or using hands or feet, that sort of thing. They just don't get any bonuses to their attacks that combat-specific weapons grant.
And yes, you fight back in the same round as you're assaulted. Every model that is allowed to fight WILL fight.
I suggest rereading the assault rules on pages 36-46 of the BGB. Pages 38 ("Who Can Fight?") and 39 ("Who Strikes First?") are specifically related to your questions as well.