Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was flipping through the rule book the other night and I was curious about what happens if my Rangers, who are in forest terrain, get assualted by Space Marines. If I read this right, it sounds like I get an initiative of 10, but there are a few other things that are fuzzy about this.
In the section for assualting units in cover, the wording mentions that the unit being assualted can shoot? Is this true? Would my rangers be able to fire a round of their pistols or Long Ranger Sniper rifles right before the Marines get to move in BtB contact?
Also, I think I read that they lose the extra attack, but I could definetly be wrong about this. I'm at work so I don't have the book in front of me at the moment.
I have a game scheduled tonight. Instead of referring me to the book because I dont have it on me and I have little between leavign work and going straight to the game, can someone just confirm for me about the shooting and extra attacks without getting into the details of the rules? I dont want anyone to think that I am trying to get around copy right procedures, restrictions, etc... I just need a quick yes or no for:
1. Free round of shooting before the unit charges you if you are in cover
2. Does the assaulting unit still get it's bonus attacjs for assualting a unit in cover?
nothing in the book says you can fire at units assaulting you. You're getting the fluff explanations confused with the actual rules. Also nothing says the assaulting units dont get their bonuses for charging
1. No you cant fire at assaulting units
2. yes they get all their normal bonuses
The book is explaining the increase in your ranger's I by saying they're shooting right before the space marines hit them. CC isn't just hack and slash, I'm sure many a marine has won close combat by shoving his bolter into someone's chest and pulling the trigger. CC is not about a knife fight, it's about winning.
Originally posted by The Mad Hatter@Dec 10 2004, 044
The book is explaining the increase in your ranger's I by saying they're shooting right before the space marines hit them. CC isn't just hack and slash, I'm sure many a marine has won close combat by shoving his bolter into someone's chest and pulling the trigger. CC is not about a knife fight, it's about winning.[snapback]271249[/snapback]
Ah, I understand now. Thaanks.