Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In the new codex the space marine characters can get skills by having a command squad. Can a second character get access to skills by joining another ccharacters' command squad?
Example: Librarian has a command squad and they all have Furious charge. Can a Chaplain that is added to this squad be given Furious charge also for the points listed in the squad listing?
1 lasgun is a joke, 100 is no laughing matter.
I'm not 100%, but I would say no. The Chaplain in your example is one entry on the FOC, and therefore cannot be given upgrades from another FOC entry. Even if you're joining the Chaplain to the Command Squad in the game, they're still different units.
Problem is the rule regarding SM HQ units and ICs, page 21 of the new SM Codex...
Essentially, one could have a Command Squad with Commander, Chaplain and Librarian, and they would count as a single HQ choice. Since I do not know how traits work, I will refrain from commenting on how they should apply to this situation.
That specific page I mentioned above I've specifically checked since when I first read of it it sounded too insane to be true...
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
Yes all attached characters gain the skills since they are one unit due to you buying the characters during the army creation process
That applies only if you buy them as one unit like Uzi-99 pointed out you could do. Not if you use two seperate FOC slots for two seperate units (like in Rhinosaur's example, or at least that's how I took it).