Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
a hypothetical case. say a lictor is secretly deployed in some good cover (perfect sniping position) and the enemy then infiltrates some snipers/anything else onto where the lictor is.
my question comes from how i go about revealing the lictor
do i reveal it and charge, making it counts as charging (+1 attack)?
-in this case do the snipers strike at I 10 as they are in cover?
anyone got ideas on how this is dealt with?
any other problems that could come from this?
ps. i know that lictors charging things in cover go simultaneously due to their frag grenade equivalent.
I can't find a reference to that exact situation either. My brother plays tyrannids exclusively and we deal with that situation as follows:
If a lictor is revealed and an enemy model happens to be in the exact same spot, we count the lictor as having charged a model in cover and place them in contact with each other. The lictor gets +1 for charging and the enemy gets his cover bonus, so both models strike at the same time.
1 lasgun is a joke, 100 is no laughing matter.
i don't really see why they should strike at the same time; the lictor is there jumping out at them. fluffwise the reason why models in cover get I 10 is that they are in great positions, hidden etc so get a natural advantage on the enemy- but if the lictor actually surprises them then i don't see how they'd get the advantage.
anyway when it happened we did the same thing you described.
I agree , the lictor is also in the same cover may be up a tree and drops onto the model, there should be no extra for the model the lictor is attacking other wise whats the point. Bonus is for if your in cover and some one comes in to get you meaning they have a harder time getting to you.
If it lives it will be consumed
Originally posted by TzarNikolai+Dec 30 2004, 121--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(TzarNikolai @ Dec 30 2004, 121)</div><div class='quotemain'>...fluffwise the reason why models in cover get I 10 is that they are in great positions, hidden etc so get a natural advantage on the enemy...[snapback]289158[/snapback][/b]
Never base your assumptions on fluff...Never! it always works out wrong...
<!--QuoteBegin-nottoc@Jan 1 2005, 13:35
...other wise whats the point.[snapback]290618[/snapback][/quote]
The point is they won't get to fire from their advantageous position, even for a single turn, which can help you tremendously.
You said it yourself....lictors have fleshhooks, therefore any troops they assault in cover lose their cover bonus to initiative. Wether the lictor started in the same over or not is moot.
This message brought to you by The Council of People Who Are Sick Of Seeing More People.
As far as giving the unit in the same cover as the Lictor their "assaulted in cover bonus", that's how we play it in my club. For fluff reasons, regardless of wether or not you are in the same cover, you still have to get through that cover (vines, tree stumps/roots/branches) to get to your enemy, and it can slow down even a Tyranids charge.
Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!
-Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.
Had a recent situation with an IG player where I had a Lictor in cover. He infiltrated a squad of snipers on the Lictor's head. He didn't search or anything, I revealed first turn and assaulted the squad, wiping them out in one turn.
First off, if the Lictor's spot is basically "taken" by another model which wandered onto it, there is no reason you should have to reveal it because it wasn't searched for. This is of course barring the whole psycher rule thing, which barely ever happens. So what I do is just place it as close as humanly possible to the spot he was. Really when you write down where a Lictor is, it isn't 100% dead on, as that would be pretty hard to do with word description. Its really just a rule to keep you from cheated to a high degree, but there is stilla tiny bit of play as far as exact location. My point is there is already a bit of hazyness as to where a Lictor EXACTLY pops out of stealth. Anyway, place him as close as possible to the spot, he CAN'T move as per Lictor rules, but he can assault that turn. In a situation where it is really tightly packed, I'd say the opponent needs to make room for the Lictor by pushing a model or two back. Really it can be imagined that the Lictor literally erupted out from under someone.
As far as assaulting I think it can go 1 of 2 ways. The rule is to the effect that units in cover always strike first in CC. If you have a frag grenade or equivilent (Flesh Hooks on Lictor), then they would strike simultaneously. However this whole thing really applies to situations where one is in cover and the other is assault from outside cover. You could go the way of -- "well both are in cover and both have frag so both hit simul" OR "well both are in cover, both have frag, so we'll run it down to Initiative". And usually that would amount to advantage Lictor, as his Inititive is really, really high. Personally, the Initiative way makes much more sense to me, however we all know GW isn't prone to making sense. It seems to me that bringing it down to Initiative is a much more fair way of resolving that problem.
Of course I could be wrong and there is rule about this that I don't see.
People hate Lictors and Biovores btw. They HATE them.
yeah, no one forced me to reveal it, the opportunity to slaughter ratlings was just too good to miss though.
the way we played it recently was that they struck simultaneously (frag grenades) but what I want to say is that even though that's the rule, it makes absolutely no sense.
(and the lictor was deployed in a bunker of which the ratlings took up all the space in, so for the purpose of it, the lictor was in exactly the same place as the ratlings- though i had to put him outside of the bunker to fit him on the table)
ive hade the same problem! but at least the guys i play with agree that they dont get the i addition