Suprising Answer From Gw On Transports - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    to my surprise, gw states that units that do not have a dedicated transport may not start the game in one.

    I'm guessing because units with a transport are patrolling inside it, but units without a dedicated transport patrol on foot, then when they spot the enemy, they are not in the transport...?

    Hi there,

    Thank you for your e-mail. I'll do my best to answer your question, but I'm
    a little confused as you seem to have answered your own question.

    1)Q: Can you deploy a squad of Tactical Marines in a Land Raider at the
    start of a game?
    A: As you say, this is not allowed, so I'm afraid you may not
    do this. Tactical Marines do not have access to Land Raiders as a transport
    option so they may not begin the game mounted in one.

    > Please include all previous email correspondence in your replies, or if
    > you prefer, you can give us a ring on 0115 9140000 and we will be more
    > than happy to answer any questions you may have.
    >
    > Cheers, hope to hear from you soon,
    >
    > Stuart McQuarrie
    >
    > Games Workshop Hobby Specialist
    >
    > Our Phone Lines are open from:
    >
    > Monday - Saturday 9am - 9pm
    > Sunday 10am - 6pm
    >
    > Shop Online
    > <http://uk.games-workshop.com/storefront/store.UK>
    >
    >
    > All rules answers unofficial until they appear in White Dwarf
    >
    >
    > The information in this e-mail is confidential and may be legally
    > privileged
    > It is intended solely for the addressee. Access to this email by anyone
    > else is unauthorised.
    > If you are not the intended recipient, and disclosure, copying,
    > distribution or any action taken or omitted to be taken in reliance on it,
    > is prohibited and may be unlawful.
    >* * * * The views expressed here are my own & do not represent of reflect
    > the views or policies of Games Workshop UK.
    >
    >
    >
    -----Original Message-----
    From: Justin Brown [mailtoustin@topnotchnetworks.net]
    Sent: 31 December 2004 075
    To: Hobby Specialists (UK)
    Subject: another quick question


    Gosh, I sure do ask you alot of questions.* Thanks for the prompt and
    concise responses about my gaming questions.

    I am fairly new to the game and had 1 quick question.* When deploying
    forces, the rulebook states that you can split up the deployment of 1 slot
    if there is a transport, which means you can deploy a squad separate from a
    transport but have it still occupy just one Force Organization slot.

    But my question is this.

    Can you deploy more than 1 slot in the same spot, i.e. can you start the
    game with a squad of tactical marines in a land raider that was not a
    dedicated transport for that squad (since that is not allowed anyways)?

    Thanks for the clarification,
    Justin

    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

  3. #2
    LO Zealot WolfRaider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    53
    Posts
    1,659
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x4)

    As usual an answer from GW is again WRONG. At best you could say they are partially right and misleading. My emphasis there. I&#39;m just tired of poorly written rules, confusing contradictions, and a company that can&#39;t even answer their own rules correctly. Maybe a clue that they can&#39;t write rules and need to hire a technical writer to fix them?

    First about answers from GW. The people who answer you are just &#39;Joe Normals&#39; working in that position. They have no special insight nor are they a rules expert. Their answers are not official until published and Chapter Approved.

    Now for your specific question. Had the person answering the question bothered to back it up with a rule quote they would have noticed they are incorrect. From page 81 of the rulebook, second paragraph under Deploy Forces:

    "When deploying a unit or independent character on the table, you may specify that it is being placed inside a transport vehicle..."

    This is during normal deployment. If you must role for reserves for whatever reason, units without dedicated transports, non-dedicated transports, and ICs each roll separately and move on as specified. In this case they do not start out in a non-dedicated transport and must use a movement phase to get it.

    So yes they can be deployed into a transport. For example a Land Raider deploys, a tactical squad then deploys into it, and finally the character deploys into the land raider joining the unit.

  4. #3
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    got it. The reply didn&#39;t sound right to me, that is why I posted it here.

    okay, so if you can place a unit inside a transport during the deployment process, then you must specify so. This throws out the concept of *not knowing* what is in the transport, am I correct? I mean I guess you might not know the options, etc... but you must say what you are doing to the opponent.

    I would imagine the requirement to specify where they are being deployed can keep you legitimate. You could have a tooled up vet squad, and a standard sm squad, and not say which transport they are in, then whichever transport makes it to the line without blowing up you could say was the one with the vets.

    That sound right?

    Thanks,
    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  5. #4
    LO Zealot WolfRaider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    53
    Posts
    1,659
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x4)

    Yes that&#39;s right.

    I really didn&#39;t like it when GW published that bit about not telling your opponent what&#39;s in each transport. I always told them before and still do. So to me it doesn&#39;t matter if I say, "I deploy my tac squad into the Land Raider". I also let them see my army roster whenever they want, and explain any special rule or unit they aren&#39;t familiar with.

  6. #5
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    Originally posted by WolfRaider@Dec 31 2004, 13:37
    Yes that&#39;s right.

    I really didn&#39;t like it when GW published that bit about not telling your opponent what&#39;s in each transport. I always told them before and still do. So to me it doesn&#39;t matter if I say, "I deploy my tac squad into the Land Raider". I also let them see my army roster whenever they want, and explain any special rule or unit they aren&#39;t familiar with.
    [snapback]290215[/snapback]
    yup, thats how I play too. But I&#39;m ussually the one who doesn&#39;t know the special rules .

    Thanks for the clarification.

    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  7. #6
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    I agree, I find it extremely frustrating that GW can&#39;t even answer their own rules or REFUSE to answer questions for 6 months

    The problem is GW has no reason to answer questions. The painting + buying miniatures is more important to them than the actual game because playing the game doesnt make them money

    I find it absurd that they STILL havent made the ruling offical about Tau drones when ive *seen* the email from the developers back in september

    Luckily I know the rules and have a high reading comprehension and Im not a no-context rule lawyer so I dont need GW&#39;s help

    regardless, I think it&#39;s lazy and other game companies actually put effort into answering questions correctly

  8. #7
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    selling is the primary goal. They don&#39;t even play by all the proper rules at my local gw shop.

    I went for the first time this wednesday.

    Rule issues I saw

    1. - terminators don&#39;t get a charge bonus cause of their bulky armor (couldn&#39;t find that one in the rule book)
    2. - take a 6 to shoot a fast moving skimmer (I thought it was only cc)
    3. - They treated all terrain as lvl 3, blocking all los even for MC&#39;s and vehicles.
    4. - Treating the tomb spider as extending the abilities of the resurection orb (had to bust out the codex on a staff member to prove that one)

    I had to correct them on all these accounts, and most of them stated that the manager had explained the rule to them.

    We still played terrain all as lvl 3, since it was easier than teaching everyone how it worked.

    I felt like saying RTFM.

    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts