Chimera Lasguns - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Chimera Lasguns

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Does anyone know where I can find a reference to the arc of fire for the hard mounted Chimera lasguns?

    I use 90 degrees to their own side (3 on each side). If this is true then only 3 can fire at once since a squad can't split its fire?

    Also I know that troops firing from a moving vehicle count as having moved so the lasguns can only fire twice not once at long range but does the fact that they are hardmounted like space marine bikes change this?

    I know that these guns don't really ever have much of an effect on the game but I was just wondering. thanks in advance for the help.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Decado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    CHIPPENHAM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    66 (x2)

    they must be within LOS of the side that they are mounted on, as for the range they will count as being stationary so may fire up to max range, though with a 12'' move why you'd need to i don't know
    WARMASTER of the SCHOLA PROGENIUM Alnwick Chapter (soon to be the world)

  4. #3
    Member Korim Trucebane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    why doesn't GW make it so that you can split the fire and utilize all 6 guns?

  5. #4
    Senior Member Chaplain Stephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia Beach Va, USA
    Age
    53
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Korim Trucebane
    why doesn't GW make it so that you can split the fire and utilize all 6 guns?
    Becouse a squad can only fire on one unit at a time unless specifically allowed via codex (Space Wolfs long fangs).
    breath, sight, squeeze.

    now double tap just for grins

    and Another One bite's the dust.

    A bolter round for all that oppose the Emperor.

  6. #5
    Member Korim Trucebane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    which is exactly what i'm praposing for troops mounted in a chimera and firing the hull mounted lasguns

  7. #6
    Member nougat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Auckland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    113
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    I agree.

    There is pretty much no reason whatsoever to actually assemble the chimera with the lasguns. The hull space would be better spent putting cargo and tow ropes etc on there to look cool.

    3 lasguns shoot left; 3 shoot right; turret, pintle and hull weapons shoot the same target but can be different to the lasguns. That is what I think it should be.

    Imagine it.
    "they're coming from the left!"
    [whole squad inside the tank pile across to the left side windows to have a peek]
    "oh yeah they are too, we should shoot them"
    "no wait, they're coming from the right too"
    [whole squad inside the tank pile across to the right side windows to have a peek]
    "ok shoot the righthand side ones because we're on this side now"

    This is the level of organisation from the regimented Imperial Guard.

  8. #7
    Member Commissar Gaunt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Winchester, UK
    Age
    26
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    In the codex it mentions nothing about arcs of fire at all...

    so in GW Winchester Store, the rule they use is that its not mentined in the codex, they can shoot in any direction as long as they can see and have the range..

    but to be brutally honest...6 lasguns...hardly going to end the world are they?

    C.G


    "i pity the poor fool"


    COMMISSAR GAUNT

  9. #8
    Member sanguinary lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    34
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Decado
    they must be within LOS of the side that they are mounted on, as for the range they will count as being stationary so may fire up to max range, though with a 12'' move why you'd need to i don't know
    This sounds right and logical but where did you get it from? Do you have a reference. Would this count the same for hurricane bolters on a LRC?
    In an hour of darkness a blind man is the best guide. In an age of insanity look to the madman to show the way.

  10. #9
    Member Commissar Gaunt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Winchester, UK
    Age
    26
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    i think so yes..

    and the reference i do believe is in the rule book around bout the viechle shooting bit

    C.G


    "i pity the poor fool"


    COMMISSAR GAUNT

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Medusa V
    Posts
    367
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    I think it still counts as movement when the vehicles moves, so the lasguns fire only once..

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts