Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
How do cover saves work with these types of template weapons? Regarding the Flamer - I know this has robs the opponent of cover saves, but what about the others? From which direct is their cover?
Many thanks in advance.
For direct fire Blast and Ordnance weapons, cover saves work as normal and apply if there's cover between the shooter and the target. Note that even if the Ordnance scatters to the other side of the cover, they still get the Cover save. This is because no exceptions are mentioned, thus You quite logically follow the normal rules for Cover. (Y)
Template weapons You already know of... Their rules are quite clear. =)
Cover in regards to Barrage weapons (whether small or large blast) is calculated from the center hole of the marker, thus if the shot scatters to the same side of the cover (nothing between the central hole and the models affected) then the target gets no Cover save. Page 31, right column, "Barrage Weapons - Firing Barrages", fifth paragraph, line 4, "With barrage weapons,..."
Note that there are some other specialty weapons and effects which can also negate Cover saves, but this will be stated in their description.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."