Kroot Rifles - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Kroot Rifles

  1. #1
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    any reason why the codex states the kroot rifle is a cc weapon. Since they don't have 2 weapons, I don't see how it makes any diff.

    Maybe there was some 3rd edition rule...?

    Thanks,
    Justin

    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Junior Member Sarukin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    It counts as an additional close combat weapon due to the blades on it, so it gives you an extra attack.

  4. #3
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    okay... so what is the other close combat weapon, I'm still not getting it.

    A standared unit only gets +1 if they have *2* close combat weapons. The rifle counts as 1, where is the other?

    Sorry, mebe I'm just being dumb, but I don't get it.

    Thanks,
    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    134
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -1 (x0)

    Originally posted by justinb67@Jan 7 2005, 22:34
    okay... so what is the other close combat weapon, I'm still not getting it.

    A standared unit only gets +1 if they have *2* close combat weapons. The rifle counts as 1, where is the other?

    Sorry, mebe I'm just being dumb, but I don't get it.

    Thanks,
    Justin
    [snapback]296668[/snapback]
    All you have to know is that it gives you another attack. The rifle, I guess, is a CC weapon and the blades are another CC weapon. That's just a guess, I don't have the codex in front of my so I can't check the validity of my post. I do know it gives you another CC attack.
    TOGIT and Roll To Wound. Any group or store wants to challenge us come to our forum and tell us. Our group of gamers is getting stale and were all jumping for a new challenge.

  6. #5
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    hmm....

    the rifle isn't a pistol (cc weapon), and the rule doesn't state that it counts as 2 close combat weapons....

    I just e-mailed gw, cause the rule is very unclear.

    Thanks for the reply!

    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Perhaps the rule is unclear because the Kroot Rifle is a specific exception to the general rule. In the Tau codex, it specifies the properties of the kroot rifle more indepth. Apparently, due to the unique muscles of the kroot and the fact that the weapon has blades attached to it, that makes kroot units count as having an extra attack. I suspect that this extra attack may not in fact carry over to other units.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)
    the rules for kroot rifles (tau codex pg 19) says
    "The incredible hand speed that a Kroot possesses due to its unique musculature
    makes these blades effective assault weapons and Kroot with Kroot rifles
    accordingly count as having an additional close combat weapon."

    ie the rifle is a close combat weapon and, as Kroot are using it, they count as
    having an additional cc weapon, although they don't actually have one.
    Thus they get an extra attack as they count as having 2 hand weapons.

    rolf

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ängelholm (Sweden)
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    But nowhere does it say that the rifle counts as a CC weapon!

    It says that it counts as an additional CC weapon, but a Carnivore does not have a CC weapon except for the rifle (which is the additional one), which is noticable on page 27 of the Codex: Tau, where it under 'Equipment' for the Carnivores only says "Kroot rifle".

    If it is not stated that "Kroot rifles count as 2 CC wepaons" or "a Kroot rifle counts as a CC weapon, and due to bla-bla it counts as an additional CC weapon aswell", then they do not get an additional attack, imho, since they have no other CC weapon.

    You cannot base these things on fluff...

  10. #9
    Senior Member TzarNikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x2)

    stop rules lawyering. kroot get an extra attack in cc because of their rifle.

    the book does say additional cc weapon, meaning that whether it says so or not, they already have one, otherwise it wouldn't be an additional weapon it would just be a weapon

  11. #10
    Member Avion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    149
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    You are all right in your own way, but I agree with windmill because in the rulebook it says that to get an additional attack you need 2 ccw, and kroot only have one ccw therefore in my eyes kroot DO NOT get an additional attack in cc.

    -Blood_Angels14

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts