Dp With Berserker Glaive - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    I was playing a guy with a dp and berserker glaive. Somehow he assaulted 12", but I just got a chaos codex, and can't find the rule. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

    Thanks!
    Justin

    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member TzarNikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x2)

    daemonic speed and daemonic steed are the only things that let you assault 12". a character with the glaive can not have a steed but at the minute i'm not finding anything that says they can't have Daemonic speed. so it is possible for a prince with the glaive to assault 12".
    but then again i could be missing something because i'm not actually a chaos player.

  4. #3
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    yup, I figured it out also.

    Thing was that he uses this tactic to get potential 30" assault range.

    Move 6"
    Blood Frenzy D6
    Fleet D6
    Assault 12"

    Now that I own the codex, I can confirm the blood frenzy doesn't work with daemonic steed or daemonic speed, so his range is a potential 24", no 30".

    Thanks!
    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  5. #4
    Supreme Evil Overlord Dreachon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    189 (x8)

    also I believe that he can't fleet of foot

  6. #5
    Senior Member Rengaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    north cali
    Age
    31
    Posts
    670
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    30 (x2)

    models with dae. speed can fleet i think... i gotta check.

    i do know that blood frenzy replaces shooting just like fleet, so you can't do both. i also know flight cancels out blood frenzy's d6 movement.

    i'm really confused as to if dae speed cancles the extra d6 of blood frenzy and if it does can he fleet?

    man, we really need a final answer on this whole situation.
    Take my words with a grain of salt, i am not the tactical genius i think i am!

  7. #6
    Senior Member Baratos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Yuggoth (I am a mushroom!)
    Age
    26
    Posts
    716
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    i'm really confused as to if dae speed cancles the extra d6 of blood frenzy and if it does can he fleet?
    The extra D6" you get from blood frenzy is also known by another name....fleet of foot.

    Theyre the same.

    You cant FoF twice in a turn.

    And finally, that guy you were playing is a cheater.
    ________________W/L/T
    Hive Fleet Furi Kuri 32/21/4
    Tomb Kings: 8/5/2

    Im in ur Halo, killin ur covernantz

  8. #7
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    the codex is quite clear. You cannot blood frenzy with steed or speed. With steed or speed you can fleet, as per the beasts and cavalry rule in the bgb. Basically, they are limiting your assault range to 24", to give some armies a chance to shoot for at least one round in every game.

    I don't think the guy I was playing was cheating intentionally. The reason being is that even though he had the berserker glaive, he would still roll for the blood frenzy.

    Funny thing is that I've never heard of a mastery test when I've played the chaos guys at the local shop. Is there some ability that forgoes the mastery test (both games I've played they have used daemon weapons)? It specifically states that they must take the test each round the kill someone even if they are fearless.

    And then there is the part that makes absolutely no sense.

    The berserker glaive cannot be used with daemonic steed, but may be used with daemonic speed. Now, I ask you what is the difference between daemonic steed and daemonic speed?

    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  9. #8
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    No, you cannot fleet if you blood frenzy. There is a topic on this *Exact* subject a few pages down. We answered this very recently.

    Fleet requires you to be ABLE to shoot since it is "instead of shooting" and BLood frenzy makes the model unable to shoot. Thus you cannot fleet because you cannot shoot.

  10. #9
    Senior Member Rengaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    north cali
    Age
    31
    Posts
    670
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    30 (x2)

    the difference is daemonic steed is something you ride, and speed is your really fast.
    Take my words with a grain of salt, i am not the tactical genius i think i am!

  11. #10
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    oh thats pretty cute, look it's a 10' tall daemon prince on a horse .

    naw man, what I meant was, both abilities have the same result. They both make the model move using the beasts and cavalry rules.

    So why make one illegal and the other not, when there is no difference in gameplay?
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts