Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've had the problem of fighting people with loads of blast templates and everyone insists that you don't get cover saves from any blast or template weapons. now i've read the rulebook and have seen that you don't get cover from the flamer template.
however I haven't read anything that says you don't get cover from the blast templates. now from anything indirect it says that you get a cover save from the centre of the template but what are the rules about direct fired blast templates? and if you're not allowed cover saves can someone give me a page reference please
Everyone's wrong. You don't get cover saves from Template weapons - i.e. flamers and anything else that uses that tear-drop shaped template - you're right there....everyone insists that you don't get cover saves from any blast or template weapons.
However, you get cover saves as normal from blast (including large blast/ordnance) weapons.
If the ordnance/blast weapon is fired directly - e.g. Vindicator demolisher cannon, Leman Russ battle cannon - then you get cover saves as normal. So if you were standing behind a wall relative to the weapon you'd get that cover save, regardless of where the template actually lands.
If it is (Ordnance) barrage fired indirectly - e.g. IG mortars, Basilisk on indirect fire - then it depends on where the template lands. If, for instance, there's a wall between you and the centre of the blast template you'd get that cover save. Note that if you fire a Basilisk on direct fire you of course get any cover save relative to the basilisk.
Important Note about area terrain: if you agreed with your opponent before the battle that that bit of ruin is (say) 4+ save Area terrain, and the shot lands in the terrain with you, then you still get that save. Area Terrain saves are valid from any direction, even if the firer is in the terrain with you.
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
thanks, that's what I thought. maybe they just have difficulty with the transition to 4th edition.
ok, here's an ineresting one (just hypothetical) if something has a natural cover save, eg warlocks with conceal or harlequins, do they still get the cover save even if they're in the open (from blasts)?
--- Which would be odd because 3rdEd worked pretty much the same way after the FAQ clarifications were added. =)Originally posted by TzarNikolai@Jan 28 2005, 18:23
thanks, that's what I thought. maybe they just have difficulty with the transition to 4th edition.--- Yes. It doesn't matter whether being shot by normal or Blast weapons, they still get their inherent Cover saves because the weapon shot at them doesn't negate it.if something has a natural cover save, do they still get the cover save even if they're in the open (from blasts)?
They would also get their Cover against Barrage (normal and Ord), because the marker can't scatter to the same side of Cover they're in (same situation as Area Terrain).
Note that Templates still negate inherent Cover saves... It doesn't matter what fluff reasons there are for the Cover, Templates negate them nevertheless.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
When do people finally learn not to let others shift the burden of proof to them?
By default, cover saves are allowed against all weapons.
There are exceptions to this, and if your opponents claim that there is such an exception for blast weapons too, then they have to prove this (and they won't be able to do so, as they are wrong). It's not your job to disprove it.
They made the claim, they have to back it up. Otherwise their words mean diddlysquat.