Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, I'm quite new to WH40k and not long after trying to learn about 3rd Ed, the 4th Ed comes out.
The topic description is self explanitory really, but to summerize, my question is this:
I've read the special rules on deepstriking and that when you deploy over or within 1" of 'enemy' units then your unit is destroyed. But what happens when you deploy over your own units?
1. Do you lose your whole unit...
2. Place them within 1" and lose the surplus of the circle...
3. Or do they just deploy within the other friendly unit, hoping the the other unit keeps coherency...
4. None of the above.
You can merge your units within themselves. You cannot stand on top of one of your own models, but can stand in between them. Treat each MODEL as impassable terrain and follow the placement rules for landing within impassable terrain. But remember it is the MODEL that is impassable, not the unit. You cannot move the models in the unit that gets landed on until its their time to move.
If it causes you to fail to complete a 'ring' because your own models are actually occupying the space you need, then the remaining models are lost, page 84. Don't DS too close.
Weird, since the Hobby Specialists at GW UK seem to think that you move the Deep Striking models to the closest place they can deploy.
According to them, no models are lost when you Deep Strike units ontop of your own other units/vehicles.
Well GW employees are known for multiple opinions regarding their own game system, some even contradicting the rulebook. That's the problem with publishing an awkward, confusing, badly written, and contradictory rules system.
Anyway, the book says if you can't complete a ring during the deployment of your deep striking troops, all others are lost.
You cannot put one of your guys on top of your own troops.
There is nothing in the 4th ed rulebook that says you can move DS troops over when they land on impassible terrain (such as your own troop).
In third edition the FAQ eventually (after multiple changes) said you could move your DS troops out of the way of anything no matter how far or large the unit unless you actually landed on an enemy unit. Maybe they're thinking about the old rules?