Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a HQ character, such as the Ork warboss takes a large retiunue, such that the points value of the retinue is larger than that of the boss, then - if the retinue are wiped out but the boss is still standing, does the boss still count as a scoring unit?
In this case, the boss is still intact, but the unit they were part of has been reduced below 50% points value.. so logically, the boss on their own is not a scoring unit. However, they remain an independent character - so on that basis would they remain a scoring unit?
Divide & Conquer
Independent characters are not scoring units. The retinue is, but if it is reduced to below half strength then it is not, as per the rules for scoring units. It doesn't matter how many points the retinue is worth in comparison to the boss.
The enemies of the Emperor fear many things. They fear discovery, defeat, despair and death. Yet there is one thing they fear above all others. They fear the wrath of the Space Marines!
Independent Characters, Retinues, (and any transports they may be riding in) are all counted separately for Victory Points purposes.
So they would consist of an IC of X points (who is not a scoring unit), and squad of Y points (which IS a scoring unit, as long as it's above half strength), and a dedicated transport of Z points (which is not a scoring unit).
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.