Deepstiking Transport Question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Just a quick question.

    Can a transport vehicle unload its troops on the turn it deepstrikes? 8|


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    What transport can deepstrike? Anyway, I would assume not, simply because units that deepstrike can't move or assault, basically they can't move at all. The embarking/disembarking rules could be interpreted to suggest that a unit can't disembark if a vehicle has expended all of its movement, as would be the case in a deepstrike.

    You could of course argue that the vehicle wasn't moving to its max, but just under the distance that allows disembarkment, but that sounds like an unbalancing way to play to me.

    Like I said though, I can't think of any transports that can deepstrike, so maybe this value is included in the transport's point cost, (doubtful).

  4. #3
    Member Rhino Driver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Age
    33
    Posts
    222
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    i know that the dark eldar vehicles can deepstrike but i dont know if they can disembark or not
    Warhammer is expensive.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    The deepstriking transport is something I made with the VDR rules for necrons.
    It has both transport & tunneler options.

  6. #5
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,961
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

    Embarking/Disembarking counts as movement, but when you deepstrike you cannot move anymore in that turn - therefore you cannot disembark.

    The rules of screaming jets (that DE vehicle upgrade) literally mention that troops cannot disembark from such a raider (even though it's an open topped vehicle).

    jwu

  7. #6
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    but what if you give it scaling nets (yet another de upgrade) would it make a differnce :huh:


    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  8. #7
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,961
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

    They won&#39;t change anything.
    Scaling nets allow you to disembark during a part of the turn in which you are normally not allowed to disembark, but if you can&#39;t move then you still can&#39;t disembark.

    jwu

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts