Skimmer Movement - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    ok, when you want to move a skimmer over or on top of impassable terrain, do you have to "angle" the measuring device from the skimmer to the top of the terrain piece and include that in the distance (creating a longer path), or can you just measure horizontally?

    thanks


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Karrot Dialysis karantalsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Beeston
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,321
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    116 (x4)

    Measure horizontally, performing a powered boost is not extra movement.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot WolfRaider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    53
    Posts
    1,659
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x4)

    Also of note, page 17, 'Moving Up & Down'. The pictures shows an actual move of 6" forward, and 6" up, measured on the horizontal then vertical planes. It is not measured on the diagonal.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Originally posted by WolfRaider@Feb 28 2005, 20:34
    Also of note, page 17, 'Moving Up & Down'. The pictures shows an actual move of 6" forward, and 6" up, measured on the horizontal then vertical planes. It is not measured on the diagonal.
    [snapback]340857[/snapback]
    yes, infantry move like this, but does that apply for skimmers also?

    i'm probably going to go with karantalsis on this

  6. #5
    Senior Member joebloggs1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Skimmers are ALWAYS measured HORIZONTALY ONLY.
    Vertical terrain does not bother them, although i have never moved over buildings before.
    I have stuck to a general rule of thumb that they cant move over anything that is taller than the model is. I might be wrong though. Ill have to check my rulebook.
    Chaos - 11W 0L 0D
    Orks - 8W 0L 0D
    Tyranids - 8W 0L 0D

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    i'm pretty sure they can move over all terrain

  8. #7
    Karrot Dialysis karantalsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Beeston
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,321
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    116 (x4)

    Not got my rulebopok with me but paraphrasing from memory

    Skimmers can perform a powered boost allowing them to pass over terrain, this means that they can pass over ANY terrain not limited by its height.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Alexandria, Virginia
    Posts
    400
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Since Skimmers don't have to make a terrain check when moving over difficult terrain the height is no issue.
    Looking for a compliment here is like looking for a girlfriend in a cemetary. You know you probably won't like what you dig up, but you'll take it anyway.


  10. #9
    LO Zealot WolfRaider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    53
    Posts
    1,659
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x4)

    Originally posted by botulismnator@Feb 28 2005, 20:49
    yes, infantry move like this, but does that apply for skimmers also?

    i'm probably going to go with karantalsis on this
    [snapback]340948[/snapback]
    I put the page reference in my replies so the person can read up in more detail. The first line in my reference is "When a unit is moved, it can..." The picture just happens to be an infantry model.

    joebloggs1987, your rule of thumb about not moving over something taller than the model contradicts the rules which specifically state the unit may move up or down the same amount as its horizontal move (assuming the terrain is something they could move up or down over, like a ladder for infantry or anything for a skimmer).

  11. #10
    Senior Member joebloggs1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Yeh ok, well they can move over anything then.
    Chaos - 11W 0L 0D
    Orks - 8W 0L 0D
    Tyranids - 8W 0L 0D

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts