Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I play IG and my friend plays Ork. We had a few disagreements over the rules.
I will describe each one for you there only 2 of them to talk about.
1) It was my turn (IG) and I drop a pie plate on to his ork truck with the Da boys in it.I roll a hit on the truck. The ork player says everything under the pie plate is hit that means the da boys and the truck. I said no, only the truck is hit even through it is a open top.I show him the vehicle rule under shooting at it. He shows me the rule under ordiance. I lose that one, so more orks die.Eventhough it is a good thing for me.
2) On that same turn I shoot my battlecannon from my Leman Russ at his foot walking orks and get a hit and kill about 7 of them. Next thing he is doing is rolling for being pinned. I show him the rule under barrages and that only my indirect fire from my baslisk could have cause that. So I win that one.
So as you can see am I right on both these or have being playing my IG wrong?
What is funny is that I hear so many players complain how they are being cheated, but only cheating here is against ourselves(heheh).
the game was draw(doh!!
1) You can't hit the passengers, since the rules for shooting at vehicles do not allow this. I could see no reference to this in the Ordnance rules.
Something to note is that Open-Topped Transports are just like Closed Transports and You don't need to place any model in or on it. Thus there shouldn't be any models to be hit by blast weapons... If Your Ork friend insists on placing models on his transports and advertising the contents, that is his loss, no rules require it.
It can be assumed that the vehicle protects the passengers from any direct damage... This is balanced by the fact that a Penetrating hit against an Open-Topped vehicle from an Ordnance weapon will most assuredly destroy it, most probably in a most spectacular fashion, and thus the situation for the passengers is already dire enough.
2) True. Direct-fire Ordnance does not cause Pinning, the only reference in the rulebook is to Barrage (and Ord Barrage) weapons.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
I don't have the codex so am not sure if the battle cannon is considered a barrage weapon, but if it's just ordinance, then, no on the pinning, as you thought.
As for the orcs in the wagon, no, they would not be hit, but if you penetrated the wagon, or destroyed it, they'd have to take saves on the emergency disembark table (rb p 6.
Hope that helps.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
any truck that is hit by a battle cannon is doomed to die a horible death-
two separate hits because its a blast weapon and the target is "vunerable to blasts"
two rolls of 2D6 and pic kthe highest plus 8 agaisnt armour 10
two virtually garanteed penetrating hits,
two rolls of the ordanace damage table, with plus one because its an open topped tank. so on a 5 or 6 with either dice the truck AND its entire contents are anihilated.
this means that if you hit a truck, you are virtually granteed to annihilate hte squad and the tank.
in a recent battle my Russ took out two trucks, 20 hard boys and a warboss with two battle cannon shots
He's got a point. Moral of the story: don't put trukks in front of battle cannons.
Although remember if it scatters and the hole in the template is not over the trukk it is only half strength (though 4+2d6 is still going to cause some damage).
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
(1)You would only hit the vehicle. Lets say you shoot an ordanace at a tank. The shot won't kill just the people inside. Therefore it is the tank.
(2)You were right on that one.
Space Wolves 12-1
Wood Elves 1-2