Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
lets say I have a bunch of my army inside webway portal, or I'm deep striking terminators. what if i never set up the portals? what if i roll a bunch of one for getting my termies in? does my opponent get VP for them all?
Haemonculus Coven Dark Eldar
Yes, Your opponent will get VP for every unit that deniened to show.
Unfortunatelly I can't give You rulebook page reference :hmm:
Green Tide will consume You all!
If they are lost on the way in (bad scatter die rolling etc.), then your opponent gets VPs for their destruction. If you never roll high enough on your reserve rolls and the battle ends before they can arrive, then no VPs. If the unit with the Webway Gate (for Eldar) is destroyed, or it is otherwise arranged that they will never arrive no matter how long the battle continues, then they are destroyed for VP purposes.
Catapultam habeo. Nisi omniam pecuniam mihi dabis, saxum immanem ad capitem tuum mittam.
The rules may be found on page 85. But, of course, they are not clear. The text states you get VPs for "...damaging and destroying enemy units." A unit that never shows up from reserves is obviously not damaged or destroyed by the ememy. It just didn't arrive.
However, the text goes on to state see the chart below for what you score "...for inflicting casualties on the enemy."
Here's the confusing bit. In the chart, foot units list full VPs for "Destroyed, off table, or falling back"
One could interpret a unit that never arrives from reserves as being "off table"
I feel the text coupled with the table entry that also includes 'destroyed' and 'falling back' with 'off table' indicated the 'off table' is a unit that has been forced off the table by the enemy.
I do not see anything that supports an enemy receiving VPs for a unit that does not arrive for whatever reason. The enemy did not destroy or damage it in any way. The enemy benefits from a weaker opponent, but does not get any points for it.
I'd like to hear where the other opinions come from as I can find no rules to support them.
Yup, what you said sounds right. (Y)
... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..