"Independent characters" and command squads... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member rtsposer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    USA, MD
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    "Independent characters" and command squads...

    Alright, Librarians chaplains and captains all have listed under their special rules "Independent Character" as one of them.

    Now certain wargear can ONLY be given to "Independent characters" i.e. terminator and artificer armours.

    When explaining that in the codex wargear section it has an astric that says something like 'techmarines, apothecaries, and veteran sergeants are NOT independent characters'

    Also, i was under the impresion an independent character could lead whatever squad he wants to just by moving within a few inches.


    Now for my question, the stupid "Independent character rule" has an apparent exception that is "unless accompanied by a command squad" this character counts as an independent character.


    I get that maybe one character can only lead one squad at a time and that his command squad obviously takes precidence over any others. But what about wargear???


    I mean, can a captain with a command squad have artificer armour? I TOTALLY understand that they don't want you outfitting every veteran you have with terminator armour and all, but what about those guys who are entitled to such nice things but have an escort as well?

    I mean, the character is the same regardless of if he has a command squad or not, so shouldn't his equipment options stay the same regardless as well???


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO BorninDarkness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Maastricht (Netherlands)
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,574
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    50 (x8)

    He can still have the 'independant character only' wargear. He only doesn't count as IC for the purpose of being able to join squads.
    Ze titles yez...
    When in doubt,
    Smite.
    <SilverMane> I would trust BID with my life
    <SilverMane> HEIL BID!
    <Adrian-> BiD is Omnipotent; All Knowing, All Powerful!
    <Scary_Troopers> I see you as an optimist, GT. : D

    But what of the midgets!?
    =]Front in favour of Moderation of the Harshest kind.[=


  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    One question: are old one eye and the red terror special characters? since they aren't listed as one... but in that case, can they join up with troops?

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    holland (nijmegen)
    Posts
    146
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I don't think so... the codex says nothing about it only that is is an heavy support choice...

    nothing about joining up whith troops.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Vindkall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Karlskrona (Sweden)
    Age
    31
    Posts
    751
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    32 (x2)

    I don't fink they special characters, but Eldar has a fast attack SC, Imperial Fist has a troop upgrade SC, and the Dark Angels has a troop upgrade and a fast attack SC.
    But the new rules for SCs, says that you don't have to agree with your opponent to use a SC in your army, so they can still be SCs and banned from tournaments.
    "As I walk through the valley of LO I fear no spammer, because I got the power to ban"



    Of Trui and Gay

    A Chaos Space Marines Diary

    Svenska Rackham Sidan

    troopseses!

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts