Retinue & Vp's - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Retinue & Vp's

  1. #1
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    I was reading the retinue rules, and at a local tourney I played in (emperors champ at gw), I lost a game because the opponent got his farseer and retinue as VP's (as per the mgr's explanation of the rules)

    Well, I was making an IW list and had a squad of chosen as a retinue, so that he'd be included as vp's.

    But, I was reading the retinue rule, and I don't see how giving them a retinue changes their IC status. I mean, once the retinue dies, they are free to go wherever they please, so are they still classed as IC's regardless of the retinue for vp purposes?

    In fact, after second examination, as per the statement in teh beginning of the chapter, they *must* be classed as an IC for the rest of the rules to apply (i.e. retinue).

    I do believe the retinue would count for VP's because they are a non-vehicle unit, but I don't think the hq is.

    Some clarification would be great!

    Thanks,
    Justin

    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

  3. #2
    Senior Member §ilent§torm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    746
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x2)

    Rulebook, page 86, first paragraph.

    Every part of that group becomes separate- the IC is one part, the retinue another, and the transport another. Kill the transport and IC, you don't get points for the retinue. Same with broods of lictors and guard platoons.
    Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.

  4. #3
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    Originally posted by §ilent§torm@Mar 21 2005, 00:33
    Rulebook, page 86, first paragraph.

    Every part of that group becomes separate- the IC is one part, the retinue another, and the transport another. Kill the transport and IC, you don't get points for the retinue. Same with broods of lictors and guard platoons.
    [snapback]357246[/snapback]
    Thanks! That is crystal clear, stupid gw manager....

    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts