Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Here is a curly question.
Say a squad of marines advances into a patch of ruins about 2" x 4". Thatas well and dandy.
BUT! What if I have deployed a Litor in the same patch?
The two ways I can see this going is...
1. The lictor springs up and scares the marines into soiling thier breaches and strikes at Initiative order.
2. The marines have had enough time to set up defences and will count as being behind cover for the assault. Lictors have flesh hooks so will be striking simultaniously.
My preferance is for the former, but I want to see if we can get some sort of concensus on this..
Thanks for thinking on this...
y'know. I think its a mixture of both :p
The Lictor comes out, and the Space Marines are so busy crapping themselves that they forget that flesh hooks arent taht deadly.
Shame that lictors arent the most efficient Space Marine killers...
you know what? i really hope that this "striking simultaneously" really gets sorted out with the lictor next codex because there really is no way you should be able to react fast enough to what you thought was a just a spiky tree trying to stick a 6 foot talon through you to hit back at the same time it hits you.
but currently you always strike simultaneously because you count as having charged a unit in cover... thanks GW.
i wonder if some sort of callidus like rule is in order? :shifty:
Cover provides no benefit to the attacker.
Regardless of what common sense and reason may say, if you attack a unit in cover, the defending unit benefits from cover. The attacker doesn't not get the benefit of cover.
There are certain special rules that change this situation, such as psychic powers that allow the attacking unit to take the cover with them. If this is the case, it is specified in the special power. Otherwise you leap out of cover and attack, keeping no cover benefits.
Obviously if two units are in the same cover, and the cover is a type that is negated by both units being in it, then neither gets the cover benefit. Both units in the same trench or pit for example, or on the same side of a wall. Both units in forrest type terrains does NOT cancel the cover, since the cover applies to all sides.
Well, what if some of the squad is directly on top of the lictor?
Would it go like "Ill stand on this rock to get a better shot... oooh... its a bit squshy.. OH! IN THE NAME OF THE EMPEROR!... LICTOR!... GLURK....."
I agree that with the rules as they stand the squad can claim cover, but its just not that fluffy.
If a portion of a squad is in cover, and a portion is not, those in cover benefit from the cover while those exposed to the elements do not get the benefit. Of course with just one Lictor, there is going to be a limited number of enemy models that will actually be in HtoH.
If the cover is area terrain that counts as cover, such as woods, then every model in the woods is in cover even if there isn't a tree modeled in between the Lictor and the marine victim.
Don't forget the Lictor has Feshhooks.