Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey my friend DeepStricks his whole Tryanid army and i had some questoins about deepstrike.
1. When deepstriking if he lands on our units does his deepstriking units die?
2. When he deepstrikes sometimes he lands within 2" of my units. If he's within 2" of my units does he count as being in Assault or do u have to Charge first?
Thx in advance
IF hes playing a seeding swarm then the may not die, you need to ask him to see where hes getting the rules from, should be WD or Chap approved 04. I beleive he needs your permission to play that army.
WE W/L/D 178955613235668/0/2 J/K
Return of the KEEPER OF THE SACRED CHEESE
3000 more points until the PROMISED LAND
3000 more points until my soul is FREE
SKAVEN ON A BUDGET (click it)
Under normal deepstriking rules, if an enemy deepstriking model landed on your unit (the central model which determines where others are placed), within 2" of your unit, or off the table edge, the entire unit is destroyed. When placing models in a circle around that central model, if they are on an enemy unit, within 2" of an enemy unit, or off the table edge, they are destroyed.
Seeding swarm may have special rules, I don't know -- ask your friend for clarification or to show you the rules if they use special DS rules.
If his squad lands on or within 1" of your squad they are destroyed, unless they have the ferocious upgrade.
Hey I have a minime! *points at Sithlet*
Veni Vidi Variant
I came, I saw, I got a different type of Leman Russ.
The spikey ones go faster.
98% of the teen population has smoked weed, the other 2% went straight to crack.
Saga of the Ages. Click it.
Rules for grenades are on page 72 of the rulebook.
--- First of all, make sure he's playing his Seeding Swarm by the exact rules... All too often newbie SS players claim they can always DS, when they in fact can NOT.Originally Posted by wAr_GaMeR
I'm not giving out exact pages since I don't know what exact source for the SS rules Your opponent has (legal sources are White Dwarf 256UK/25?US, Chapter Approved 2003, CA 2004, 2004 Annual), but the location is the same:
Seeding Swarm article, second page, the paragraph in upper left corner, "Seeding Swarms - Choosing a Scenario".
Also third page, upper left corner, first paragraph, line one: "For other scenario categories..."
If he is not following those rules, he's most probably using an illegal SS.
As for Your questions:
1. Depends on the unit... Most units do indeed die if they land on Yours, but certain specific Seeding Swarm units may be given a special rule called "Ferocious" which changes this.
2. He has to charge to fight in an assault.
Remember, his Tyranids can not charge (make an Assault move) on the turn they Deep Strike. Also note that getting within 2" is not enough: At least some models must be in base-to-base contact with enemy models for a close combat to happen, and since the only way You can move closer than 1" of an enemy is by charging into CC and BtB... Should be fairly obvious.
Ferocious Tyranids that land on an enemy unit count as charging and thus will initiate a close combat. Note that they still may not make an Assault move. See the Ferocious rules for which models the Ferocious creatures can attack.
Last edited by Uzi-99; April 1st, 2005 at 17:25.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
Ok thank you