Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
mixed armor rules say you go with the weakest, of the most common saves for assigning hits...
so a Crisis Armor, with a Shield Drone, is basically always hit before the shield drone does it's job... (assuming a 3+ is considered "worse" when compared to a 4+ inv)
meaning if a crisis armor starts with 2 shield drones, and one gets destroyed, then the other is useless...
the impression i got was the drone was intelligent enough to impose itself between the enemy and what it was supposed to defend... making it.. well, a shield....
and i don't buy "the enemy stopped aiming at them"...
A 4+ save (regardless of invulnerability) is worse than a 3+ save... so the Shield drone would always take the first wound (unless Crisis Suits outnumbered Drones).
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
Against a Lascannon a 3+ save is infinitely worse than an invulnerable 4+ save.Originally Posted by Anacron
you must 'wound' the most commen type first. depending on your configuration, if you have 2 drones for each crisis suite, you must apply the drones first.so a team of 3 suits and 6 drones. hit by lets say 12 shots, so first 6 to drones, then 3 to suits, then 3 to drones again/
so 9 saves for the drones, abd 3 to the suits.
if it's even, as much drones as suits,then the drones have the worst value. if less drones are left, the suits go first.
however, thiers is invlnerable, so no instant dead can be issued when he makes the save.
a lascannon can not instakill a drone.
@Ostsol, can you explain your statement please. are you refering to the insta kill issue?
No, I'm referring to AP and other effects that may ignore armour or otherwise affect an armour save. Let me rephrase my statement:Originally Posted by vindicator
Against an AP2 weapon, a normal 3+ save is worse than an invulnerable 4+ save.
It all depends on the situation. At face value, 6+ is worse than 2+. However, if that 6+ is invulnerable and the weapon is able to ignore normal saves, the 2+ cannot possibly help. Of course, against something like a Bolter, the 6+ save -- even an invulnerable one -- is quite obviously worse.
Another example is against Choppas, where a model in Terminator armour is no better off than a model in Scout armour. Their effective saves are ultimately the same.
The codex actually overrides that rule with regards to drones, stating that you must allocate all hits to the drones first before allocating hits to the rest of the squad. This means that you still get to make a 3+ save with your battlesuits, and a 4+ with drones.
Also, if you read the officcial addendum that has the ammendments for most of the codexes, it states that this rule is still in force. Drones don't count towards the 'majority' for armour saves, rather as 'ablative' wounds for your troops.
Last edited by Talon Osbourne; April 15th, 2005 at 18:39.
"We are nothing but shadows and dust. Our actions go unseen by an uncaring universe, but a select few will perform deeds celebrated or mourned by the stars themselves. What will become of us? Nothing more but memories of shadow."
How does this override the FAQ's statement that Drones "are subject to Majority Toughness and Majority Armour saves rules as normal".Originally Posted by Talon Osbourne
you're right. drones ar always chosen first even if they are not in the majority.
now i found that.
When firing a weapon with an AP rating you never assume that a 4+ Inv save is better then a 3+ save. The 3+ save is always better regardless of weapon fired. If that were the case the rules would tell you to check the weapon being fired to determine which armor save is better.
Logicall speaking, an invulnerable save could always be better do to the fact you will always have a save, but that is not what the rule is asking.
Just wanted to throw that out there.
Originally Posted by Talon Osbourne
where is this addendum? is there a PDF online, a link somewhere?