Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I am unsure of a close combat issue, and am looking for your guidance.
I play tyranids, and my mate plays tau.
Here is the example:
FW2 FW2 FW2 FW2 FW2 FW2
FW1 FW1 FW1 FW1 FW1 FW1
Gaunts & Stuff
I have a bunch of gaunts assaulting his first squad of Firewarriors (none could get into base contact with squad 2).
I want to know if I wipe out the first squad, I consolidate into CC with Squad 2, or squad 2 gets a turn of shooting before I can assault him.
Can a squad consolidate into close-combat, or just consolidate into a pre-existing close-combat?
Obviously it would be in the best interests of each army to have it a different way, but the rule book seems to be a little convoluted on this issue. :confused:
Thanking you in advance
You may consolidate into close combat with a unit. However, this does not count as "charging", nor do you get any attacks at that point as it would be the end of the assault phase witch is when consolidation is done.
So, in most cases, if youve whipped out the squad and are within 3" of another squad, you can consolidate into close combat.
Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.
Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:
1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant
2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers
3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC
What your Tau friend is using if he shoots at your consolidating troops is using is a rule from 3rd ed, shootong at sweeping advances.
This rule is no more in 4th ed.
If you consolidate into another squad after CC then the assault is effective from that moment not from the start of the next assault phase. But you dont count as charging.
Hope I've been of assistance.
So just for a final clarification:
I consolidate, into base contact with the Firewarriors. The firewarriors are now engaged and may not shoot at anything.
you wipe out a squad, you consolidate into the next one (provided you rolled high enough) both your squad and the one you consolidated into are now locked. they cannot be shot at and cannot themselves shoot and will otherwise remain unnaffected by anything till the next assault phase. be it yours or your opponents.Originally Posted by Bio-hazard
Awesome, thanks guys :p