Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm a little confused about how you deploy the army.
The original WD articles and 2 and 3 seem to indicate that you need to pass a roll to summon in order to deploy the force.
CA 2004 seems to indicate that I can deploy after my opponent has using deep strike rules without needing to roll to summon them.
I've also heard that drop pods are used but that does not seem very fluffy to me as they are meant to just materialize.
Also when scenarios do not allow deep strike rules how should I deploy?
I've painted up my force and have had a few discussions already on what the legality is. Also I assumed that as it was chapter approved it was usable at tournaments but some say it still a test list.
1. use the most recent publication. my annual says that they deploy after your opponent finishes deploying but before the first turn.
except for games using deepstrike or reserves special rules, in which case you roll for reserves as in the rulebook but they always deepstrike onto the board.
2. the cursed foundings may never deploy using drop pods (as is written in the army list)
3. you can still deepstrike in but must do so before the first turn (even before you decide who gets first turn) but after your opponents deployment.
4. legion of the damned and other cursed foundings are still not an official list so you must check with your oppoent or tournament organisers before you can use them.
Legion of the damned deployment is as follows.....
You deploy your forces as dictated by the Scenario. You also deploy in the normal deployment order... heavy support, troops, elite etc......
You still alternate with your opponent when setting up troops (unless the scenario dictates otherwise).
You deploy by using the deep strike rules. You do not need to roll to see if they are available, but you do have to roll for scatter.
Chapter Approved 2004 tells you where you may deploy so I've no need to do that.
The Legion Of The Damned army list from Chapter Approved 2004 does not allow the use of Drop Pods. It tells you what you may take from Codex Space Marines, and Drop Pods is not one of them.
If the scenario does not allow Deep Strike, you still enter play that way, it is the only way Legion Of The Damned enter.
It is not a test list, it is chapter approved..... however, in competative games you must still make sure that non codex armies are allowed.
Well - one says I deploy after my opponent does and one says we alternate. Chapter
Approved says after my opponent. Otherwise you have confirmed what I've been telling people. I have been deploying before first turn after my opponent as per CA 2004 but I can't seem to get a definitive answer. Which of you is correct?
ok. i'm not saying i'm automatically right. not calling wolfkin wrong. i just say whats in my source. and as has already been stated, the sources do differ.
i'm using the wh40k 2004 annual (uk). (i wanted the seeding swarm list)
under using the rules it says "these rules should be considered "trial rules" at present, and you will need to check with your opponent that its Ok to use them"
also when it says they deepstrike before the game begins it implies that its after deployment but before anyone rolls for first turn.
It would make sense that deployment took place after the opponent has set up.
Given that he must set up a given distance from your troops, it could leave him with very little (if any) room to place units if you encroached upon his deployment zone, which is possible with scatter (I have played in a game where this happened).
Therefore, it would be my advice to go with TzarNikolai's version of the set-up for now.
I will endeavour to find a definitive answer for you whether it conflicts with my original theory or not.