Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Im abit confused on independant character rules.
Eg. If you had an marine force comander in power armour as an independat character can he join a squad of 9 marines in a rhino, even though that the rhino is dedicated to that squad?
Being an IC he can join the squad, and since he now counts as part of that unit he can get into their tank, as long as you donâ€™t exceed the maximum capacity of course. Be warned that if the squad gets out so does the IC, but the IC can leave the unit and get out by himself. IE: an IC can leave a squad but a squad canâ€™t leave an IC.
Also if inside a squad an IC cannot be targetted by shooting because he is part of the squad, but if the squad is in close combat, even if the IC is part of the squad, the IC can be singled out.
ICs can only be targetted if they are the closest model in the shooting phase, it has absolutely nothing to do with being a part of a squad
Last time I checked the closest character rule died in 4ed so all that they need to do is make a moral check. So being part of a squad is everything now, itâ€™s your only protection. Could someone look in the IC section in the book and post a page number (or prove me wrong), my book is out of reach.
Nope, you're wrong. In 3rd edition the IC had to be more than 6" from other viable targets or the closest target within 12". Now it's just the closest target -- in which case you have to take a target priority test to not shoot at the IC.Originally Posted by Deep_inferno
Oops got ahold of the book... sry
Last edited by Deep_inferno; April 27th, 2005 at 00:46.