Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok I thought this was some what a common knowledge but does indirect fire weapons (ordnace) give your opponent cover saves?
fluffywise it would make sense because the shell lands behind the barricades and basically blasts everything behind it.
since I couldn't find this in the rulebook, which page (if the assumption is correct) is it on?
Dont have a rulebook on me but you never get cover saves from any template weapons. Blast, large blast or flamer plates. After all, a tree wont save you from the entire world going up on flames around you.
Interesting side note, flamers automatically hit everything on the inside of a bunker. No room to run!
Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.
Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:
1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant
2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers
3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC
I thought they did, if it is barrage it is measured from the impact point (center hole). But if it is just regular ordinance then you get a cover save in relation to the fierier, this is supposed to signify random bounces/bad sighting/hiding behind a large object as the flames die down. Flamers donâ€™t get cover though. that was my interpretation anyway
Last edited by Deep_inferno; April 27th, 2005 at 16:43.
there are no cover saves from template weapons (teardrop/flamer template)
however for indirect fire, you get a cover save if there's cover blocking you from the centre of the template or if you're in area terrain that gives you a cover save.
other blast weapons you'll get a save if you have cover between you and the firer.
The flamer temeplate you do not get cover saves because it says in the rule book(under wpns with the flamer).On the indirect blast and ordinace you do if your unit is in cover just like any shooting target.
Oh dear Chaosbrynn. And here was me thinking you were the knowledge on all things 40k. You've shattered that image for me now. :p
TzarNilokai is correct.
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
I think you should invest in a rulebook then heh.. You get cover saves against indirect fire BASED on where the hole on the template lands
If it lands behind your cover then no, infront yes.. Area terrain always recieves their cover save against indirect fire
ok. what i want to know is how it works for models with a "natural" cover save. these are things like concealed warlocks, harlequins and lictors (amongst other things). how do their cover saves work against templates? obviously they won't get them against flamers etc. but against blasts i don't think the rulebook makes a difference between them and the regular cover saves.
however indirect blasts only get cover from the centre of the template. in this case does the natural cover save count as from all sides so they would get the save? or does it ignore the save?
please don't answer with: "i think they shouldn't because in the fluff..." what are the actual rules for it?
They get their save, because the "cover" is them, so no mater where the round hits they are still in cover, that being said fluff wise the idea that a cloud of fog protects my guardians from a d-cannon round is hilarious :lol:. I did have a player make the argument that my guardian directly under the hole doesnâ€™t get a cover save, I let him have it his way,(Iâ€™m not going to argue and lose sportsmanship points over an guardian) but I wonder what the ruling on that is?
P.S thx for backing me up, I was sure that was the rule, but I was out of reach of the rule book, and he trumped me by 1000 or so posts plus being a mod and all :o I began to doubt myself :rolleyes:
Since normal blast weapons are treated in exactly the same manner as non-blast weapons, such models do indeed get their "natural" cover save. Against indirect blasts. . . I can see how it might be argued both ways.Originally Posted by TzarNikolai
No Cover Save:
Their cover save is a result of being difficult to see, while cover provided by baricades or forests is due in part to physical obstructions between the shooter and the target. In the absence of something to hid behind, being difficult to see is not going to help them.
They are difficult to see so the shot may have been off by more than the placement of the blast marker represents. Of course, this does not hold up when the placement is due to an unintentional scatter onto their position. . .
Personally, I'd argue that they get no cover save.
EDIT: I guess that's a fluff-based argument. Heheh. . . By the rules, they probably should get a cover save, though the rulebook does not make any specific reference to "natural" cover saves. *shrugs*