Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Somebody told me last time I played that if you fire a weapon and then charge you don't get the +1 attack for charging. Is that true?
Haven't personally heard about that before, most weapons either prevent you from assault after firing or have no effect on the unit's ability to charge.
That's not true. However, you cannot fire rapid fire weapons and still charge. Someone may be under this impression because the description of rapid fire weapons gives the explanation that the +1 attack on the charge comes from firing rapid fire weapons on the assault, but this is only a "fluff" description and has no actual bearing on the game.
Basically, you can only fire pistols or assault weapons and still charge, but you will still get the +1A from charging after firing either weapon.
The only things I can think of off the top of my head that will prevent you from getting your +1A on the charge is a certain Necron Lord upgrade, Tau photon grenades, and the True Grit ability (which will always let you have 2 attacks while holding a bolter, but you won't gain an attack on the charge).
This misconception comes from the trial assault rules from 3rd Ed. it is no longer the case.Originally Posted by Ditchdigger
Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom
JUst to give the full story.
In 3rd ed you could fire then charge.
When Trial Assault Rules (TAR) were introduced you lost the +1 attack if you fired before assaulting.
In 4th ed, If you fire with rapid fire weapons or heavy weapons you may not assault at all.
If you only fire once with pistols or with assault weapons then you may assault as normal.
In 4th ed if you can charge you ALWAYS get your assault bonus. With the exemption of special rules e.g. True Grit.
Hope this helps.