Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In the SM Codex it states:
"Land Raiders may be selected by some units as dedicated transports..."
My question is does this mean both types of land raiders? I'm asking since the sentence states "raiders" instead of saying a Land Raider may be...!
i BELIEVE that Land Raiders can be, but Land Raider Crusaders can't. Where it says 'Land Raiders' that is just talking about the normal land raider, but addressing the fact that there is more than one of them.
Why do you say both can be? I got many arguements on a different forum saying no.
ONLY Land Raiders can be used as transports, as listed in the transport option under the appropriate unit. Land Raider Crusaders (or other varients) may not be used as transport upgrades to a unit. Crusaders are a separate entry and even though they have a similar name, they are not the same unit. They are not an upgrade to a regular Land Raider, but a separate unit.
Taking multiple crusaders is only a black templars special rule since the
chapter designed them. Each chapter may take one crusader. But since
you have three heavy support options, you can do that, but it will be
-HONORABLE MENTIONS IN BLITZKRIEG PAINTING COMP-
"THAT I.G. GUY WITH THAT OVERDEVELOPED TRIGGER FINGER"
Well, see thats kinda iffy....the new codex removed the 0-1 limit for all non-templar chapters on the Crusader. Under the old rules for the Crusader, I'd be tempted to say that no, they couldn't take a LRC as a transport. But now, its basically just a different weapon loadout like a LandSpeeder Tornado or Predator Annihilator. Dont see why it couldnt be assigned to a specific unit, like a termie squad or something, especially since that seems to be its purpose at least fluffwise.
That's precisely why it CANT be used as a transport upgrade. It is not a different weapon loadout like the landspeeder. Notice that the landspeeder varients are all listed under one entry. They are truly just different weapon combinations for the same unit. However, the Crusader is a different and completely distinct unit with it's own entry on the unit listing. GW has published a non-official clarification stating the Crusader cannot be used as a transport upgrade and may only be taken as a HS pick. I'll see if I can find it again.Originally Posted by Lord_Wallace
So you cannot put men inside a LRC?
Or am I misunderstanding what you mean.
Space Wolves- 4,000 pts
Dwarves in progress
You CAN put men inside it... what he means is;
Terminators + LandRaider = 1 Elite Choice (Dedicated Transport)
Terminators + LR Cruisader = 1 Elite Choice + 1 Heavy Choice
Any other squad + Any LR = 1 Elite Choice + 1 Heavy Choice