Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A couple of questions on using assualt squads and deep striking?
1) If I have a HQ attached to the assualt squad and roll to have the assualt squad join the battle, does the HQ automatically join in too or do I have to roll separately?
2) If I deep strike into woods which are difficult, but not impassable terrain, does the assualt squad have to take a dangerous terrain test for ending it's movement (deep strike) there?
Thanks in advance for the help with the questions.
Independant characters are not joined to squads before deployment unless it is their retinue. When the squad is not his retinue, they must be deployed separately. In this case, the HQ must make his reserves roll separately from the Assault Squad.Originally Posted by TMJJSMy opinion is that yes you do, but I am not certain on this. A deep-striking squad counts as having moved for the purpose of shooting, but I'm not sure if that also follows for difficult terrain.2) If I deep strike into woods which are difficult, but not impassable terrain, does the assualt squad have to take a dangerous terrain test for ending it's movement (deep strike) there?
Number one has been answered. As for number two:
The problem here is that the rules for Jump Infantry give the models the option to not use the packs if they choose so, instead moving in a normal fashion. As such, the player could simply claim that "Yeah, they're using normal movement on the Deep Strike".
However, this makes no sense from a background perspective since they are assumed to be using those jumppacks/wings/whatever in order to DS in the first place. Of course, You can't really base anything on fluff and background...
Note that this isn't just SM... But any and all units using the JI rules. If You want to have Your Assault Marines DS into terrain without tests, then You must accept the fact that Winged Tyranids will be able to do the same!
Again, it would make no fluff sense to allow Winged Tyranids to "walk" on the turn they DS... But if someone wishes to argue, that is exactly what they can do, just like all other Jump Infantry.
My opinion is that they definitely should take the Dangerous terrain test, it simply makes the most sense of the two options available... Essentially, JumpInf should count as moving using their special rules on the turn they arrive.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."