Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
rending means on a 6 to hit you do a wound automatically, no armor save...
but does this mean you don't get to do the usual check for damage as well?
as in, does Rending have the chance to do a total of 2 wounds?
Ranged wepons, roll to hit. If any of them are 6's..insta wound.
CC wepons , roll to hit. If anyof them are 6's, insta wound.
So basically no. You roll the 6 to hit, a wound is made. You discard the die.
i think the others hit it dead on
if you roll a six to hit then it is an automatic wound and the dice is removed
ShadowZora13 saidyep, thats right ShadowZora13and it ignors armor too, of course. But a roll to hit of 6 doesn't do anything against vehicles, just the ap roll, right?
Rending weapons or claws
a roll of 6 to hit is an immediate wound allowing only cover and invulnerable saves (no armor saves). Against vehicles, an immediate glancing hit unless the attacking player chooses otherwise.
You are indeed wrong.
If you roll a 6 against a vehicle.. you get an extra D6 on your armour penetration roll.
For attacks which roll a 6 to hit against vehicles, the total AP is Weapon Strength + 2D6.
This makes rending weapons very powerful against lighter vehicles, and occasionally they can get lucky and blow up big ones too.
I'm always amazed that people can quote rules so well, and then the final sentence is absolutely no where in the rulebook nor even hinted at
Both of your are incorrect heh
First, where in the world did you read, imagine, etc that you cause an automatic glancing hit with a rending weapon?
The real answer is as follows (Which was most likely already been said)
VS TARGETS WITH TOUGHNESS - Any roll to HIT that is a 6 automatically causes a wound with no armor save allowed
VS TARGETS WITH ARMOR VALUE - Any armor penetration roll of a 6 allows the player to roll one additional d6
There is a distinct different in how rending works vs troops and vehicles
The_Giant_Mantis's wording is a little wrong. The to-hit roll is normal (auto-hit, 4+ or 6, per the table on page seventy-one of the rulebook). It's when you're rolling for penetration that rending matters. If you roll a six when rolling for penetration, you roll another die and add it to the total, so the penetration score becomes strength + 6 + d6. See page forty-six of the main rulebook.
thank you and good night