Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Which template is it that denies cover saves? All of them?
Well, since there's only one template, yes, all of them deny cover saves. If you're asking whether blast and large-blast weapons deny cover saves also, no, they don't.
thank you and good night
What Holothuria is referring to is the teardrop shape is normally used with, or called, a "template" weapon. A flamer is one example. The other two shapes are commonly called "blast" (the small round one) and "ordnance" or "large blast" (the large round one).
At the moment, most, if not all, weapons that use the teardrop template do not allow a cover save. However, it has nothing to do with the shape, but is a function of the weapon. The weapon description of the range is Template. All weappons that have this description do not allow cover saves (rulebook page 31)
Your best bet is read the description of the weapon. If it does not say specifically that it does not allow a cover save (which includes having a range of 'template'), then it does allow a cover save.
It is, or could be, possible to use the template shape with a weapon that does allow a cover save, and equally possible to have a weapon that uses one of the blast templates that does not allow a save. For example you may have a psychic power or Tyranid ability that uses the template shape but does allow for a save. Read the description or the attack. I can't think of any that do, but one might exist.
Whoa! How many times do you say goodnight? I've read like 10 of these in the last 5 minutes! lolOriginally Posted by Holothuria