Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was playing with a friend a few nights ago who was using Orks. He had a battle wagon and it was loaded up with truk boys and really didn't like the idea of having to disembark when his vehicle took a penetrating hit; which escalated when not only did he have to disembark for a penetrating hit but he also had to take another wound when the vehicle finally exploded. Should guys really have to take two rolls when they are getting out of an exploding vehicle? It seems pretty lame to all of us and we were wondering what you guys thought of the rule and how you play it.
i'm not sure what you mean.
if you're moving and you take a penetrating hit, and the result won't destroy the vehicle then you still disembark and roll for wounds as per the disembarkation table.
if the vehicle explodes you consult the emergency disembarkation table for it getting destroyed but don't bother about a separate roll for taking a penetrating hit.
Were the shots separate or from a single volley?
1st shot Pen, does not explode or wreck vehicle: Boyz make an emergency disembark. They are no longer in the vehicle. Boyz might take damage if the vehicle had moved, as per table on page 68.
2nd shot Pen, destroys vehicle: This can affect the Boyz nearby only if the vehicle Explodes (6 on the Pen table).
The rules themselves are not clear on this, but my personal take is that You roll all results before applying the effects with the most damaging effect being the first (and possibly only) one applied from the volley. Thus the Boyz would not get to make an emergency disembark... They would take damage from being inside the vehicle that suffers an Explodes/Destroyed result.
Note that if the vehicle had moved, the Boyz are more likely to take damage from the vehicle exploding/being destroyed..
Note that I assume "Wrecked" to be analogous with "Destroyed"... The vehicle damage tables do not know of a "Wrecked" result which the tables on p 68 refer to. As such, since destroying a vehicle makes it a wreck, I consider the two one and the same.
Last edited by Uzi-99; May 15th, 2005 at 17:22.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."