Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
ok... so a Wolf Lord (armor 3+) with 4 wolves (armor 6+) acting as a squad takes 5 hits...
is the wolf lord's save reduced to 6+?
No. The models whose armour save is in the majority are simply the models that get assigned hits first. Every model is always able to use its own save.
Assuming each of those five hits is a wound, one wound would be allocated to each wolf first. The remaining wound would be allocated to the Lord. With all wounds allocated, you now roll armour saves. The wolves get their 6+ save (assuming the AP doesn't beat it) and the Lord gets his 3+ save.
If the unit took only four wounds. Then all four would be allocated to the wolves and the Lord would be safe.
If the unit took six wounds, four would be allocated to the wolves, one to the Lord, and then the remaining one to the wolves. In total, the wolves must make five saves and the Lord must make one. If the wolves fail all five saves, all four die and the surplus unsaved wound is discarded.
Last edited by Ostsol; May 19th, 2005 at 00:12.
But what if they take five wounds...
Just kidding - cheers, I'm at that chapter in the rule book at the mo and had to read that bit a few times running different scenarios in my head. Same with the WS of the Majority...but I get it now.
I can't say I've seen it all but I live for the things that keep me hollow.
Actually, reading from the Codex this would indeed be right in effect.Originally Posted by Holy_Smigs
In cases of mixed armour, saves are made against the majority armour class. Therefore if you rolled no 6's your Lord would take a wound. It clearly states in the Space Wolf Codex that when rolling saves it is done against the majority arrmour class.
In another example, If your Lord had only 1 Wolf and took 2 hits, the Wolf would benefit froma 3+ save because if the unit/squad has an equal number of figures with mixed armour you may choose which save to use.
It says (words to the effect)... use the majority armour to make saves and any wounds are taken from models with that armour class first. This indicates that after all models of the majority armour class have been killed, any remaining wounds are applied to those with the minority armour class.
Swings and roundabouts. Sometimes you gain the benefit of the better armour class and sometimes you have the misfortune to have to take the lower.
Sorry wolfkin, but You are wrong.
SW follow the 4thEd Majority Toughness and Mixed Armour rules, as per the SW FAQ, and the 4thEd rules are very clear on this. Ostsol's examples are correct.
Last edited by Uzi-99; May 19th, 2005 at 18:30.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
It always pays to read the FAQ's properly..... :blush: