Infiltrating - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Infiltrating

  1. #1
    Master of Ownage Cllzzrd19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In my head
    Age
    26
    Posts
    425
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x1)

    Infiltrating

    if units can infiltrate, do they move 6 inches before everyone else moves, or do they automaticly start really clost to the enemy?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member rickyingoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In my Land Radier
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -8 (x0)

    They can start within 12" of the enemy if not in LOS or 18" if in LOS. Scout is when you make a free move before the game begins
    Out side of a dog, book is mans best friend, inside of a dog, it's rather hard to read. - Groucho Marx

    They'll kill him with self confidence, after poisoning him with words. - Desolation row - Bob dylan

    Oh, Fishy Fish. - Monty Python And The Meaning of Life

    (\_/)
    (0.0)
    (><)

  4. #3
    Master of Ownage Cllzzrd19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In my head
    Age
    26
    Posts
    425
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x1)

    my friend says that in the new edition of the 40k rulebook that scouts and infiltrators are the same thing so they can get the 12" thing and the 6" move.

    We have a battle on wednsday, so I want to get this resolved before the battle so we do not argue

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Chaosbrynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,810
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    71 (x4)

    The scouts special rule and the Infuiltrate special rule are very different. Having one does not give you the other. Infiltrators set up aftfer all other units and may begin play anywhere on the table so long as they are 18" away from the enemy or 12" away in cover. The scouts special rule allows a unit to make a free movement at the begining of the game after deployment but before you roll to see who goes first. Some units do have both these rules, but your friend is incorrect in saying that having one gives you both. It is quite clearly stated in the rulebook what these abilities let you do.
    Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.

    Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:

    1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant

    2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers

    3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    same name doesn't help either!

    Just because one of you might be playing a squad that has "scouts" in it's name, doesn't mean they get the special rule "scouts". I play Space Marines and the troop choice of SM Scouts do not get the special rule scouts, but do get two other special rules as listed in the codex.

    Good luck!

  7. #6
    LO Zealot Gojiratoho's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Earth> USA> NewYork> Schenectady> My Pants
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,791
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    74 (x4)

    Something else to note is that under the rule for Infiltrators, it states that the unit must be more than a certain distance away, if they can be seen or not. So even if your enemy has infiltrate and can place them so they can't be seen, he will not be able to move and assault your closest unit on the first turn.
    Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!

    -Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Joker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    JC, TN, USA
    Age
    50
    Posts
    628
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    137 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Gojiratoho
    Something else to note is that under the rule for Infiltrators, it states that the unit must be more than a certain distance away, if they can be seen or not. So even if your enemy has infiltrate and can place them so they can't be seen, he will not be able to move and assault your closest unit on the first turn.
    Unless your opponent is infiltrating raptors (out of line of site but 12.1 inches to 17.9 inches) away. In which case he will be in charge range even if he is 17.9 inches away.

    It's all so confusing. :huh: :o :cool:

  9. #8
    Senior Member bonekrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    388
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    On infiltrators rules it is more than 12 unseen and more than 18 seen.
    Bonekrusher

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts