Tyranid Ordinance: Barbed Strangler - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Tyranid Ordinance: Barbed Strangler

    When a Hive Tyrant or Carnifex fires their Barbed Strangler weapon... it's an Ordinance type... does it roll for scatter?

    Is it different for each unit... i.e. Does the Tyrant not roll for scatter with it's Barbed Strangler while the Carnifex must, or vice versa?

    Any help is much appreciated!

    Edit:
    Is this weapon considered an Assault type... and therefore wouldn't scatter? Or does a weapon being classified as Assault, and Ordinance type damage done by it... have no bearing on scatter?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO BorninDarkness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Maastricht (Netherlands)
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,574
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    50 (x8)

    It's not Ordnance, it only uses the ordnance template. It doesn't scatter, roll 2D6 and pick highest on armour penetration, or limit movement, or follows any other ordnance rule I forget. Treat it as a Deathspitter for instance, only with the larger template.
    Ze titles yez...
    When in doubt,
    Smite.
    <SilverMane> I would trust BID with my life
    <SilverMane> HEIL BID!
    <Adrian-> BiD is Omnipotent; All Knowing, All Powerful!
    <Scary_Troopers> I see you as an optimist, GT. : D

    But what of the midgets!?
    =]Front in favour of Moderation of the Harshest kind.[=


  4. #3
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,961
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

    Yup, it's just a blast weapon which incidentally uses the big marker instead of the normal one.

    The barbed strangler is "Assault 1 Ordnance Blast". If it was a real ordnance weapon, then it would be "Ord. 1/Blast".

    jwu

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Well said...i'd throw in some stuff but then it would just be redundant.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    At least u can go and fire with the nids ord wpns... and it can't Scatter! but i Wonder: are u able to take 2 barbed strangler or venom cannon with one character?

  7. #6
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,961
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

    Argh!
    Once again:
    I haven't found the rule which says that you may have the same item only once per model yet. But even if you could give a carnifex two barbed stranglers, this would be absolutely pointless, because it can shoot only one per turn.

    jwu

  8. #7
    Son of LO BorninDarkness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Maastricht (Netherlands)
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,574
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    50 (x8)

    Normally there is such a rule. You can't take the same item twice, only scything talons can be selected twice.
    Ze titles yez...
    When in doubt,
    Smite.
    <SilverMane> I would trust BID with my life
    <SilverMane> HEIL BID!
    <Adrian-> BiD is Omnipotent; All Knowing, All Powerful!
    <Scary_Troopers> I see you as an optimist, GT. : D

    But what of the midgets!?
    =]Front in favour of Moderation of the Harshest kind.[=


Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts