Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Right, so a unit of 5 assault marines (3+) and a kitted out captain (2+/4+inv) get shot at by 4 heavy bolters. 10 shots hit causing 8 wounds. What do I do?
Roll 8 dice needing 3's?
If so, say I roll really crap and only save two. That's six wounds caused but only five models with a 3+ save.
Remove the 5 assault marines and then re-roll a save for the commander on 2+?
Or do I apportion the hits so that every model takes a wound before the next, thus: 8 hits = captain 1, 3 marines 1, 2 marines 2 and then attempt to make 7 saves on 3+ and 1 on 2+?
I can't say I've seen it all but I live for the things that keep me hollow.
You would roll all 8 amour saves on 3+ because they are in the majority. If you happen to fail 6 or more of the saves then unfortunately your captain will have to take a wound on a 3+ amour save.
"Official! The graves of warriors who have given thier lives for the Emperor now outnumber the stars themselves."
Yes. The models whose save is in the majority are simply the ones who get allocated wounds first.Originally Posted by distortiondave
No. That is a common misinterpretation of the rule. The majority models get wounds allocated to them first, but each and every model in the squad always uses its own armour save.Originally Posted by Imperial Henchmen
I really recommend not skipping the majority armor save rule and assuming its the same as the majority toughness rule
The differences are like night and day..
You roll to wound against the majority toughness, however EVERY model gets its own armor save under majority armor saves just it dictates who must save first
Gave some totally wrong answer
Wounds are allocated to the majority first, then other saves, then the majority again, then other saves. So if you have 12 wounds on you you would take 10 3+ saves and 2 2+ saves, failed saves means you lose a model with the same save as the failed roll.
That's how it is, ostol is right.
No. You do not roll armour saves until all wounds have been allocated. 5 to the 3+, 1 to the 2+, and then wrapping around to the 3+ again adding two more, for a total of 7 for the 3+ and 1 for the 2+. Check out the second-last example on page 76 of the rulebook.