Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, two questions for you clever people.....
Q1: If each step of an assault is taken at each Initiative level then is it possible to kill the guy in base contact at a high initiative preventing his mates from hitting back?
Example: A Callidus assassin charges a unit of marines. She is in base contact with a regular tactical marine and two more marines are within 2 inches of the engaged marine. One of these 2 inch marines is a Vet with a power fist. The Callidus strikes first at and kills two marines so the marine player decides to take the 2 inch tactical marine and the marine in base contact. According to the rules a unit may only attack an enemy if it has a model in base contact with that enemy. As the Vet with the fist is stiking last and their is no longer a model in base contact with his enemy does he get to make his attacks?
Q2: If you defeat an enemy unit in the first round of combat, but they fall back instead of of being wiped out, does the winning unit get to make a massacare move?
Last edited by Mr Shadow; May 25th, 2005 at 11:46.
A Rhino? SLOTH!
1. if you manage to kill all the models in base contact then anyone from the opposing side who's initiative step still hasn't been reached can't strike. in your example, if the sm player decided to keep the powerfist vet alive and took of the two reachable marines, including the only one that was in base contact then the vet can't attack.
also keep in mind that the opposing player has to keep the squad in coherency as he removes casualties, so you can charge his squad in such a way as to force him to remove a power fist if you wanted.
2. if you make the enemy fall back but don't wipe them out then you're only allowed the 3" consolidation, not the d6 massacre result.
not adding much, but may be usefull.
1. As TzarNikolai said, the models are removed at each I step. So a canny player will take models out of base to base to prevent any more strikes at their squad. Usefull when your in a "No win" combat.
Also if there is nothing in base to base at the combat res' step, then if the loosing side breaks there is no test to disengage. Just run 2d6. VERY usefull for tau.
2. Don't forget, any time you wipe out an opponants squad in CC you get a massacre advance.
But not if you run them down. Not just in the first round. Really.
Thanks, thats cleared that up.......mid game I might add.
A Rhino? SLOTH!
--- Wrong: If You "run down" an enemy unit using Sweeping Advance, You do get to consolidate as per "Massacre".Originally Posted by Da Springy Nids
4thEd page 43, "Sweeping Advances & Consolidation", right column, first paragraph, line seven: "Note that this does..."
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
I've got a question dealing with this enought I don't think a new post is needed.
Example: A nid Tyrant assaults a squad of necron warriors. The tyrant kills off enough warriors that they are no longer locked with the Tyrant. The warriors obviously lost the combat, but they are not locked. Do they still need to make a leadership test to keep from falling back, or is the Tyrant just screwed for the next Necron turn?
They were locked at the beginning of combat, so they remain locked at the end. They lost combat, so they must take a Morale test. If they pass, everyone piles into to base contact. If they fail, the rules for Sweeping Advance apply.Originally Posted by BorderPatrol
You only take a sweeping advance roll if there are models left in base to base, so in this case the Necrons would take a morale test and if failed they would fall back while the Tyrant consolidates
Doh. . . Forgot to confirm my answer before replying.
I stand corrected.