Just one more - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Just one more

  1. #1
    Senior Member Mr Shadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wales
    Age
    33
    Posts
    372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Just one more

    Sorry, one more question....

    Q: Independant characters cant clame objectives, correct? But what about monsterous creatures like Wraithlords, Avatars and Carnefix, can they clame objectives?

    Ive look through my rule book and i cant find an answer.

    A Rhino? SLOTH!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO Uzi-99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x7)

    4thEd page 85, "Victory Points Table".

    Avatar might be Monstrous, but is still an IC and thus does not count as a scoring unit.

    Wraithlords and Carnifexes are normal MCs, and thus count as a non-vehicle unit for the purposes of the VPT.
    "The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."

  4. #3
    Senior Member Mr Shadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wales
    Age
    33
    Posts
    372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Ar, so MC just count as a unit for the perposses of scoring. Thanks
    A Rhino? SLOTH!

  5. #4
    Senior Member TzarNikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x2)

    sorry to interfere but the avatar is now just a monstrous creature (FAQ'd), no longer an ic. so it can claim.
    the statured daemon prince still however retains its ic status as well as becoming an IC

    but a regular MC can claim objectives etc. as long as its above half strength, ie has more than half the # of wounds on its profile left.

  6. #5
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    sorry to interfere but the avatar is now just a monstrous creature (FAQ'd), no longer an ic. so it can claim.
    Incorrect, why would he NOT be an IC? Please look at the Eldar codex before posting confusing information

    He is still an IC and a MC just as he has been since the Eldar codex came out

  7. #6
    LO Zealot Addoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,919
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    107 (x5)

    Actually this is debatable.

    The FAQ states:

    The Avatar is a monstrous creature, as descibed on page 55 of the revised Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

    This indicates the previous rules associated with the Avatar, including his pseudo-independant character status are now null, and he just uses the normal Monstrous Creature rules from page 55. If that is so the Avatar can be now lumped in with the Wraithlords and Carnifexen as a normal MC, including their rules for holding objectives.

  8. #7
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    I agree. If it were still an independant character, the FAQ should have stated that in addition to saying that it is a monstrous creature. After all, the codex already specifies the Avatar as a monstrous creature and there is no reason to reiterate that fact unless it is to redefine the Avatar as being -only- a monstrous creature.

    EDIT: In contrast, Chaos Greater Demons are still monstrous independant characters and the FAQ does not change this.

  9. #8
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    Sigh.. The reason the FAQ says that is because, again if you read the Eldar codex, in the Avatars description it gives *Different* rules for what a monstrous creature is

    Therefore because the Avatar uses different MC rules the FAQ clarifies that he uses the new MC rules. Anyway you're free to play that the Avatar is no longer an IC, just be prepared to be wrong

  10. #9
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    It might be an oversight, the Chaos FAQ does not reiterate or change Greater Demons' status. The Necron FAQ also does not reiterate anything for Tomb Spiders. All three codices use the same definition for monstrous creatures. This leads me to believe that it is not necessary to reiterate what a unit is unless it is being redefined.

  11. #10
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    Just because hes a MC doesnt mean the rest of his profile is changed heh.. the FAQ also doesnt say hes a demon, it doesnt say he has inspiring presence, nor does it say he has an invulnerable save..

    Just try to understand what Im saying is all.. Keep in mind that there was a large debate during 3rd edition about the Avatar. Every single other MC in 3rd edition that was also an IC had a special targetting rule allowing people to target them, the avatar did not therefore you could not target him.. People who didnt understand rules argued you could

    GW put this in the FAQ to make sure people read the new MC rules to eliminate the debate over the Avatar..

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts