Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a few questions:
1) Can land speeders fly "low" and therefore have terrain block line of sight to them?
1a) If yes, can they go high over terrain and then go low on the other side so that same terrain blocks LOS to them from units that were on the side of terrain they started?
2) If they are flying high can they see anywhere within their range? IE, if a squad is 8 inches inside of woods, can the land speeder see it as long as they are withing the range of the weapons? Or does the land speeder have to be flying over the woods to see them?
3) What happens when a meltagun hits a land speeder? The meltagun always causes penetrating hits on a glance result and the land speeder only gets glancing hits on a penetrating result if moved? Which "always" rule takes precendence? IE meltagun hits LS and rolls die to get a penetrating result, LS rule says penetrating becomes glancing, then AP1 rule says that glancing result becomes penetrating. However, you could say the AP 1 rule is used before the LS rule I guess. Also if the result was glancing to start you could apply either rule first also.
The answers to questions 1 and 2 are quite clear in the rule book, it would breach GW copyrights to state the rules here.
The answer to Q3, you have alredy given yourself, whilst it is not explicitly stated as in "When a melta weapon hits a speeder" the answer is easy to descove by running though in order:
1. The metla hits the speeder
2. The melta rolls for penetration, the rules for metlas may change the status of the penetration
3. The status of the speeder may then redesignate the penetration
Thank you for answering question 3.
However, I'm not asking for the rules, but an interruptation of them.
Question 2: I know that LOS is blocked if a unit is further than 6in inside of terrain, but if the skimmer is flying high above the terrain, does couldn't they see further?
Any and all help is apprectiated in advance.
Remember that skimmers follow all the rules for normal vehicles, except that they ignore terrain when they move.
So they cannot change the height they are flying, they cannot "fly high", "pop up" or do anything liek that. Their LoS rules are exactly the same as all vehicles.
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
Thank you Anacron. That makes a lot more sense in figuring out the rules. It seems there should be something special happening to them when they hop over terrain, but oh well.
They can hide behind type 3 terrain but not gain any benefit when in it due to them hovering above it
"Ah.. i'm almost done with these 3rd quater spreadsheets and still no sign of.."
"What, is up, my dog?"
"Ughhh I'm not your dog"
"Waterman, you crack me up! that's why you're my D-O-G-E"
"Your Doge? What are you talking about? I'm Strong Bad Waterman works in retial shipping resources"
"Ah-ha Good one waterman, I mean good one MY DOG"
Just think of it in simple terms.. If a skimmer is moving fast then anything you do to it is reduced to a glancing hit.. It doesnt matter if you hit it with a tau pulse rifle or if you throw it inside a sun as it goes supernova.. its still a glancing hit, ignore all such special rules