Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Basic question, do Independent characters who are given a retinue still attack and get attacked in the same manner, i.e. base-to-base or do they use the "within 2 in of a model in btb" rule?
I ask because a friend of mine took his GK grandmaster with a retinue and he really thought that because he was within 2 inches of a btb [retinue] termie he could attack [my grots]. We went with no but I want to be sure.
(The grots had just charged across a field of tri-anuses created using the pieces from 2 Macragge box sets, many were slurped down in a suitably horrible fashion. Then the two termies that were reached won anyways and even my trusty squighound could not prevent those little cowards from charging back across the tri-anus field where many were slurped down in a suitably horrible fashion...again. This left my warboss out in the open where he was cut down with many bolter/helgun/krak missles the next turn.)
The IC have to be in BtB to hit at all. See page 51 for clarification. Doesn't matter that he has a retinue (unless the IC and the retinue has some obscure special rule I'm not aware of, and then I would ask for the codex where it says so)
- Resistance is Futile -
- I'm not a Nerd! I'm a 13th level Paladin -
- Jesus saves ..... and takes half damage -
The only special rules that a retinue has are that it is deployed with the IC and it cannot be left by the IC. Other than that, it's treated like any other squad.
Locutus is correct - an IC *must* be in Base-to-Base contact in order to attack or be attacked in close combat. Retinues and bodyguard have no effect on this rule.