Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok... Simple Question I hope
I have a friend who plays SM... his own chapter. I am not very familiar with SMs. I play Necrons, have a 3k army now and also a 2k SoB army.
He has used the Teleport Homer in this way. He measures up to 6 inches from his Scout Sarge and that point is where he places his first Termie and from that point... the rest of his 9 termies circle around it.
The only thing I have seen on a Teleport Homer is "Teleporting troops don't scatter if the template is placed centered on a model with a teleport homer." To me that sounds like you can't measure 6 inches away and then place but I could be totally wrong.
You are wrong. The wording you have seen is in the old 3rd edition SM codex: the new one does allow your opponent to do what he is doing.
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
Alrighty, thanks for the answer. I think I need to grab me a SM codex and learn them a bit... seeing as I face nothing but SM armies now.
New Question on the same topic.
If my teleport homer is in a rhino at the begining of the turn can I use it? The marine codex with the updated teleport homer says "homer must already be on the table at the start of the turn to be used." Does this mean that I can not use my teleport homer if my troops with it are driving their way up to the front lines. Or is the rule in place so that I can't teleport my first guys in, and than use them to get the rest in the teleporting troops in without scatter?
It would suck if you couldn't use a teleport homer in a vehicle, all of my first turn teleports would scatter, and with my luck every one would die...even if they are 13 inches from everything.
1.you cannot telport in to a transport at all. "on the table" means on the table not in a transport.
2. you can not teleport in the first turn, deep striking troops are reservies and you need to roll to bring them of from turn 2
3.if you get them on as reserves and the homer is in a transport i think you would have to put them and the table and take your chances with scatter dice.
Don't worry over much about scatter, I've played both Deathwing and a Space Wolf force that deployed solely by drop pods and never lost anyone while deepstriking.It would suck if you couldn't use a teleport homer in a vehicle, all of my first turn teleports would scatter, and with my luck every one would die...even if they are 13 inches from everything.
Last edited by sithjack; June 6th, 2005 at 02:51.
Veni Vidi Variant
I came, I saw, I got a different type of Leman Russ.
The spikey ones go faster.
98% of the teen population has smoked weed, the other 2% went straight to crack.
Saga of the Ages. Click it.
Rules for grenades are on page 72 of the rulebook.
I believe he's asking if the guy holding the homer device is in the vehicle, can the arriving unit teleport (within 6") of the vehicle and benefit from the homer. If that's the question then yes you can.Originally Posted by greg1394
The "...already on the table..." part of the rule means you cannot have a reserve unit arrive with the homer device, and then have other following units arriving on the same turn benefit from the homer. The homer must already be in play, or "on the table" before you check for reserves arriving. "On the table" does not literally mean the man with the homer actually has his feet on the ground. He might be in a building, in a vehicle, up a tree, etc. The homer still works as advertised.
Sorry to disagree with you WolfRaider but the teleport homer only works if the "model" carrying it is on the table. If he is in a vehicle then he doesn't count as being on the table so it would not work. Fluffwise, you'd say the vehicle's armour was interfering with the signal.
I feel it is similar to Chaos daemon summoning where you cannot summon daemons to an Icon Bearer in a transport as they are not considered to be "on the table".
First turn?? You can only call down reserves on turn 2Originally Posted by nichodemus10
Out side of a dog, book is mans best friend, inside of a dog, it's rather hard to read. - Groucho Marx
They'll kill him with self confidence, after poisoning him with words. - Desolation row - Bob dylan
Oh, Fishy Fish. - Monty Python And The Meaning of Life
You cannot summon deamons to an icon bearer in a vehicle because the template on which they arrive must be placed in contact with the bearer, and there is the possibility it may not scatter which would result in part of the deamons arriving within the vehicle, not to mention you can't place the template in contact with the bearer inside a vehicle anyway. There is no use of the term "on the table" in the demon summoning, other than the arriving units may not be placed on the table within 1" of the enemy, So your comparison does not apply.Originally Posted by Lleu
The description of the teleport homer does not require the template to be in contact with the user, and there is no requirement to have the bearer actually touch the ground. What if your teleport homer bearer was using a bike? What if he was standing on top of a vehicle? What if he was in a building? What if he was on a raised platform? None of these has his feet on the ground. The term "on the table" means "in play" in this context, not that the model is actually touching the surface of the table.
I showed you mine, now show me yours Where do you see any rule, FAQ, or other official comment that requres the bearer of the TH to be a model with his feet touching the ground, or a prohibition from using the TH in a vehicle?