Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay i have a question that i would like answered if possible. I had a battle against Tyranids today and a situation arised where we were unsure of what should be done.
The situation is as this. There unit in question is a brood of 3 Tyranid Warriors armed with a venom cannon and 2 rending claws. In the previous turn the SM dealt one wound to the brood and this was given to a rending claws warrior. In the next turn 4 wounds were dealt to this squad by some devastators. Since there are more wounds dealt than there are models the wounds must be dealt to all models and the extra wound can be assigned by me to any of the models.
The question that im asking is whether the wound that i can assign is done first or last. The Tyranid player wished to keep the venom cannon warrior alive. He says that the extra wound is dealt first. Therefore i would deal this one wound to the venom cannon warrior. He says that the next three wounds are done so that some how the venon cannon warrior is still alive and the other two warriors with claws are killed. That is, he assigned two wounds to one rending claw warrior and killed off the one wound rending claw warrior leaving the venom cannon warrior alive.
I believe that the assigned wound is dealt last. That is, all three warriors are wounded once. This would kill one warrior with rending claws since it was on one wound. This leaves two warriors, one with venom cannon and one without. I then choose to assign the last wound to the venom canon thus killing it.
We had a little discussion and he wasnt happy with my interpretation of the rule. In the end he gave in and killed his venom cannon warrior.
In this situation who is correct?
ps sorry if i didnt explain it clearly but thats as best as i could.
Ultramarines Second Company
Hmm.. well methinks there are several rules that come into play here. This is what I thik would happen.
As you must remove whole models where possible (p.27 BG you would first remove the Warrior with only one wound. Then the other three wounds must be divided between the two remaining Warriors, which will logically kill one outright and leave one with one wound on the table, so the question is Which one?
Now usually the owning player will choose which models will be removed form his unit as long as they are within range and line of sight (p.26), so this is what I think should have happened, thus your opponent would keep the VC warrior alive. However you could contest this as there is a rule that states When a unit suffers as many wounds as it has models from a single round of shooting from one unit then the attacker may choose one enemy model to be speciffically targeted (p.26/27). But because Nid Warriors are multi-wound creatures immune to instant death, I see this rule as being a bit pointless as you could force the VC to take one wound and then your own opponent could just put the other two on the other warrior.
I hope this helps, I know I haven't given a definitive answer, just my opinion, but this is quite a tricky one.
The first wound that the unit got doesn't get placed on a particular model. The unit gets that wound as a whole. Then the next time, you gave him 4 wounds. You allocate one wound to his warrior with venom cannon first, and then he has to remove that before the others. On page 26 you find the rule for nominating a wound, and on page 27 you find the rule for creatures with mora than one wound.
- Resistance is Futile -
- I'm not a Nerd! I'm a 13th level Paladin -
- Jesus saves ..... and takes half damage -
When you say 4 wounds do you mean 4 wounding hits he has to save against or 4 unsaved wounds?
If you inflict more wounding hits than he has models then you get to assign 1 of those hits to a particular model and he must make a saving throw against it. He then makes saving throws for the other wounding hits and applies any unsaved wounds to the unit as a whole.
If he is assigning the unsaved wounds to work out casualties (only he gets to assign them) he must assign the first to the model with claws already wounded so it gets killed, then he can assign then next 2 wounds to the second model with claws, and finally wound 4 will go on his venom cannon to leave it with 1 wound.
The two rules happen at different stages in the process, make sense?
Edit: In a unit where there are multiple creatures with more than one wound, he cannot assign a single wound to each creature to keep them all alive. The rulebook is quite clear on this.
Last edited by Lleu; June 5th, 2005 at 11:13. Reason: Rules clarification
Lleu: I meant that he suffered four wounds.
I think i get it now. I just wanted to clarify when i got to assign the extra wound. But i realise now that it wouldnt make a difference because even if i went first or last he would be able to save his venom cannon warrior. The reason why this whole thing got me confused was that i thought you had to deal the one wound to each warrior, in which case the extra wound would be able to pick off the VC warrior. Thanks for the clarrifcation guys
Ultramarines Second Company